1 / 3

Help our family tame a neglected piece of land in Kakabeka Falls, ON, Canada

  • Favourited 3 times
  • Last activity: 28 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We're a middle-aged couple with kids who bought a previously unmaintained old farm in the summer of 2023. We are working to help the property realize its potential. Current and future projects include: maintaining the orchard, clearing and maintaining the forested areas, preparing gardens, taking down old structures, fixing structures and building new ones, animal husbandry (only chickens now, but eventually adding pigs, sheep and possibly other animals).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Melvin is a sometime professional musician with a PhD in musicology who has done a great deal of traveling, speaks multiple languages, and enjoys discussing and teaching what he knows. He also once worked as a chef and loves to cook. Kari enjoys fermenting food, making her own mayonnaise, caring for her daughter Elsie, and is very interested in natural, non-medicalized birthing.

    We would welcome the opportunity to share what we know, while learning from our guests.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We bought an old farm in O'Connor Township, about a 35 min. drive SW of Thunder Bay in 2023. It had not been maintained for many years before we bought it, so there's a lot to do to fix it up and more fully realize its potential: clearing, chopping and stacking wood, caring for and picking fruit from the orchard, taking down old shelters and building new ones, gardening, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Greek: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Latin: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have many years of experience teaching English and am also fluent in French. Spanish, Italian, Greek, Russian, German and Latin are other languages I understand to varying degrees.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Presently, tenting or staying in a small camper are possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Campfire with a beautiful view, hiking on local trails, visiting local waterfalls, Lake Superior, and Thunder Bay, playing music, hunting (in season), fishing... Having a vehicle would be preferable, but borrowing a bike would be possible, as well as car rides when convenient or necessary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 457574613975

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help renovate an old house, nicely located near the Canal Lachine, Canada
Off Grid Homestead Farm in Devine, BC, Canada