Permaculture and small building projects with our family in Catalonia, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 248 times
  • Last activity: 3 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi, we are a mixed culture family who are of Jamaican and English origin and now reside 10 minutes outside the beautiful city of Tortosa. We live on 5 acres of farm land which is off grid. The land is established with olive, almond, and carob trees. We also have chickens, 6 cats, 5 geese, 2 dogs, 1 goat and 1 pony.
    We speak English and are currently learning Spanish and Catalan, our youngest son is 21 years and is in need of improving his Catalan so any help there would be greatly appreciated!

    We grow a lot of our own fruits and vegetables and we are learning about permaculture so that we can eventually rely on it as a way of life. Our daily routine involves feeding the animals, watering the plants, helping with the house chores or with other tasks and ongoing projects. We like an early start to the day and do not work on Saturdays.

    We have invested in a solar panel system of which we get our energy supply and we now have our own source of water and a swimming pool! We are in the process of installing a functioning irrigation system for our plants, so if you have any knowledge of setting up a good system we would love to have you join us! We have an outdoor toilet, shower and kitchen for volunteers, however we could use some help to improve these.

    Other building projects we need help with are setting up animal fencing, we would also eventually like to build a small wildlife pond and rock beds. It would be great to have someone independent and can get on with tasks as sometimes we might not be around or have other tasks to be getting on with! We are happy to negotiate hours to suit you.

    Tortosa is a beautiful town: the Delta Ebre runs through the town and is known for its large cat fish and is popular for fishing. There is also the famous Tortosa Renaissance festival in July which commemorates the historical period of the 16th century through different cultural and recreational activities! The region is also known for its rice paddies. If ever you want to visit the town we have bicycles and it takes 20 minutes to ride, otherwise its just over an hours walk through the lovely countryside. If we are available we can offer lifts too! The beaches are 30 minutes away, public swimming pool is 10 minutes away. The beautiful Parc Natural dels Ports is walking distance, where lies the magnificant Mount Caro (1441m) and many other summits which you can climb, the views from the top of these summits are exceptional! The summits can be seen from the from our property and they make a beautiful backdrop.
    There is enough space for you to have your own vehicle/tent. But we also have a caravan that sleeps two, with a nice lounge area stocked with books and some games. We provide basic food such as milk, sugar, flour, pasta, rice and bread. As we grow a lot of fruit and veg in our garden, you are welcome to help yourself to these! Should you require special dietary requirements such as gluten free food you will need to get those yourself. As mentioned above there is an outdoor kitchen area with a hob, and also a BBQ for you to cook all your food on, sometimes we can cook and eat together! We don't eat meat, but can cater for those that do!

    We look forward to welcoming you into our little finca and hope that you enjoy your stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am from Jamaica, my husband from England. we lived in Canada for a year then we moved to the the UK. We love tasty cooking! We are loving, patient, chatty and caring and would love to share what we have.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help with ongoing projects as mentioned in description, plus some help on the house so having any construction experience would be a plus! I always need the help maintaining and expanding the vegetable garden and allotment.
    Depending on the time of year, we need help harvesting olives and carobs, pruning and clearing around the trees.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Catalan: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Hi, we speak English fluently, I speak some Spanish and our 21 year old Cameron speaks some Catalan but we a need to learn the native Catalan and Spanish language so any help there would be great!

  • Accommodation


    We have a cosy caravan on the property that sleeps two and space for a campervan or tents! We have an outdoor shower and compost toilet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Roquetes with Tortosa about 10 minutes drive. There is the river Ebre which runs through Tortosa where you can take boat rides and fish. Online you can find beautiful places to visit nearby. We do have bicycles for you to use and we can offer lifts as well! We llike going to the beach on our days off to relax. We don't work on Saturdays as we take this time for family.
    We don't smoke but you are able to use designated spots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have enough space to accomodate more than 2 people

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25 hours/week)

Host ref number: 452594633149

Feedback (15)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.3)

Join us at our beautiful Galician 17th century building complex and help with gardening and more in Maceda, Spain
Nature-lovers, creatives and handy people join us in our house near the coast of Galicia, Spain