DIY, Gardening and help with the land on a small homestead in La Valle, rural Wisconsin, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 179 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    127

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A big hello to potential Workawayers!

    What we are doing now : Just got home from a couple weeks of traveling to weeds that are 7 feet tall. Weeding and harvesting are consuming all our time! Also in a continuous process of getting rid of grass and replacing it with low ground cover perennials. The older chickens are molting, the youngest chicks are growing and they are loving the weather, the bugs and the constant replenishing of greens.

    Our family has hosted for about 15 years as our children grew. We are finishing up much work and doing upkeep on our 150 year old house. We still have outside stone masonry work, painting, tiling, a construction project or two along with permaculture landscaping and seasonal gardens and greenhouses. You are most welcome to lend a hand to all of these projects. No particular skills are required, except for a sense of humor and a willingness to be open to experiences; We'll teach you the rest if need be. We barter with some Amish families, so if you are interested, you can get a glimpse into their world as well. We provide all the food and we will feed you well. If you want to help with the cooking and prep work, that would be great. We are whole food plant based vegans.

    We have 2 dogs who live for fetch and loving pets (border collie mixes), 3 cats who entertain themselves, but are always looking for a lap to sleep on, 8 chickens and 23 growing chicks (who will be going outside with the rest of the flock come July).

    We love camping, kayaking, music, drive in movies, hiking, painting, lots of cooking and eating, bonfires, bike riding, and star gazing. We love cooking and creating healthy, delicious food. We're interested in meeting new people and learning different ways of being, thinking, and viewing the world. We are all vaccinated and boosted and healthy and looking forward to getting back to normal, social living.

    We have a bedroom or two for guests that can accommodate a couple people . We also have a camper that has seen better days, but is a fine place to sleep. We prefer stays of at least a week so we can get to know each other. We most often have longer term stays, which are fine too.

    You're treated like family when you come here. Plenty of time with people, plenty of solitary time if needed too.

    There is an Amtrak station and a Greyhound bus stop about a 1/2 hour away from us and we would be more than happy to pick you up to get you here. Rural Wisconsin does not have a lot of transportation options.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our talents and interests vary widely. We have an artist, a computer geek, an avian expert, a writer, an entrepreneur and a naturalist/jack of all trades in the family. A few of us play/are learning ukulele. Some of us are writing books. We cook for vegans using whole foods, avoiding sugars, oils and anything processed. Our kids are coming and going from college, life and travel, so never sure how many will be around at any given time.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help finishing the remodeling of our house and gardening/land management. We have mad building skills, and we have rebuilt most of our house and redesigned most of our land, but there is always more to do. But with your help, we hope to get this done while enjoying life and making new friends throughout our country and the world. By the way, you will rarely work alone, as everyone pitches in around here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in learning Spanish. We know some basics, but have no chance to practice, so we lose it quickly

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a couple extra bedrooms in our home that will be all yours. Right outside of it is a common area. There are 2 bathrooms, a living room, dining room, a large kitchen, and 2 decks. There is a camper with a queen bed and possibly a couple single beds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a naturally beautiful area of our country with woods, lakes, cliffs, lots and lots of nature, and four distinct seasons. We regularly drive to larger cities about 1 1/2 to 2 hours away, sometimes to Chicago. We are close to many gorgeous state parks and recreation areas. We are more than happy to drive and explore the area with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have decent WIFI, so if you work remotely, it shouldn't be a problem

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space for campers to park. There is water hook up

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can accommodate pets, hopefully your pets will get along with our pets

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 449571692554