Helping out with dogs and other small tasks on a farm in Hedmark, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 321 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1393

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 33 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an including family of six and we would include you into our family while you are here. We have beautiful surroundings with wildlife and forest to offer, but we do live far from the city and malls. We have a small local town 20-25 minutes drive, and you will be allowed to borrow a car if you need anything, and if you don't have a license we often drive into town. We are willing to pick up in the nearest bus station.

    We are for 2021 season looking for couples or 2 friends travelling together.

    For winter season we are looking for someone to help out with the dogs primary as well as a bit with the kids so having a license and being comfortable with driving here in Norway would be a bonus.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would love to speak more english in our daily lives, and you can learn more about dogs, breeding, caring and training as well as some farming- All depending on what you want.
    Staying at our place might be a challenge it you are used to a high tempo environment as we do things in our own pace without stressing (Or well, we try at least!). There are not a lot to do in the near by area, no nightlife or pubs etc. But we do have beautiful fishing lakes, great hiking area and stunning surroundings.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who are willing to help out in our farm. We have cattle for our own consumption, horses, dogs, cats, a little pack of chickens.
    Their might be some outside paint job during spring/summer time and inside during wintertime. Some gardening, fencebuilding, small building projects, general maintenance and organizing.
    We have cattle for our own meat and expect you to help us out with laying new straw, feeding, checking on their welfare etc.
    The primary task will be helping out with the dogs will be about taking them for a forest walk, helping with socialization, some training (We only use positive training methods, something that is very important to us) feeding the dogs and cleaning the dog runs and taking them outside/inside.
    If we have puppies it will include cuddling, taking care, cleaning etc. We also have horses that will need tending, and if you know how to ride we would love for them to get used more!
    It all comes down to your own experience and what you would like to do, but it's important that you like animals (Especially dogs as we have 10+ dogs and 4 cats!)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Norwegian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a one room guest cabin in the garden of good standard with a double bed, internet access tv, microwave, small table and chair and a fridge. The workaway will have access to the main house for bathroom/kitchen/livingroom all hours. Our main house is being renovated at the moment as is the rest of the farm. No smoking inside the cabin or main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live two 1/2 hours from Oslo, Norways capital city and would not have a problem giving you a ride to the train/bus station but there are little to no public transports here. We eat four meals a day usually, always getting together for dinner only. You will have to be creative about your time off, but if you enjoy the outdoors there is always something to do as well as a few sport activities near by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week. 1h the two last days.



Host ref number: 444351583216