Live and work in Appalachia, North Carolina, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 178 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/08/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a 200 acre mountain home in the northwest corner of North Carolina, USA - Appalachia. I am seeking a seasoned, responsible and skilled couple (both people must be skilled) to live initially in my fully equipped studio apartment on the lower level of my house and then move to my off grid cabin a half mile down from the main house. I am willing to pay for your work if you have the proper and vetted skills - solid references a MUST.

    Here are my needs:

    1. clean out the off grid cabin and do insulation and wood paneling. The cabin is equipped with a propane heater, wood stove, small solar system for lighting. It has a full bathroom with septic and water enters from stream fed mountain to pump. Water needs to be hooked up to cabin. Cabin also has a small propane fridge and oven and sink. Couple must be skilled in construction and comfortable with clean up of cabin.

    2. I maintain a young apple tree farm (20 trees.). Some maintenance is needed - mostly keeping on top of weeding around trees and pathways. Some feeding of trees necessary. Trees are for cider growing apples and won't bear fruit for another 2-3 years.

    3. Work around property including bush hogging and grading of hiking trails; I have a small Kubota tractor.

    4. Other minor construction work around property and maintenance.

    5. Care of my two wonderful doggies when I travel.

    My home is welcoming and tranquil. If you do not have a car, you can use my truck for local driving only if you maintain a valid driver's license. My truck is not to be used for recreational purposes. I travel to Charlotte three days a week and you must be comfortable with mountain tranquility when I am not there; it is gloriously peaceful. Appalachian State University is in nearby Boone, NC (about 40 miles away,) and there is a lot of activity. West Jefferson, NC is about 15 miles away and offers restaurants, music, and attracts many travelers as the town is historic.

    I shall discuss salary if we are a good fit. I am seeking a couple from June-October 2022. Please do not apply if you have pets or children.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Kind regards.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living life in Appalachia is a truly wonderful experience. These mountains are rich with history from the Civil War and Reconstruction. I live ten miles from access to the Appalachian Trail Head in White Top Virginia. Hiking Mt. Rogers is wonderful and doable in a few hours up and back. The history of fiddle music is second to none.
    Although I live on a mountain top, access to major cities easy.
    My neighbors are interesting, traveled, and educated people for the most part who have moved down here to live and take care of their large properties. There is also kind and good folk who have lived in these mountains for generations. The actual town I live in has a fantastic pizza and salad restaurant and a brewery opened recently and a fantastic coffee shop that hosts live bands regularly. Many travelers are now passing through as they hike the AT and bike ride the Creeper Trail.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Work for my property would be 6 hours per day, five days a week. Your availability to care for my dogs is dependent upon my travel schedule, however, assuming you are returning here to the mountain after a work day at the school, there is no problem. They need very little attention, but would love a lot of affection.

    I am as private as I can be social. It is fine if you like privacy and lots of alone time when not working. No pressure. Just be you and I will do the same.

    Truly this is a beautiful life. I wonder sometimes how I lived in NYC for as long as I did. Expect cool mountain air and rarely does it get above 85 in summer.

    You can set up a personal studio above my barn if you are an artist for the five months you are here (June-October.) I have an ATV to use on my property. It would be helpful if you were comfortable on a 4 wheeler.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a two level house (1,500 square feet upstairs and 1,500 square feet downstairs.) Volunteer can live most times on lower level which has a bedroom that is fully enclosed and has a private bath and kitchenette. It has been beautifully constructed. The other side of the downstairs has my workout room. This side is heated with a wood stove in winter, but it is generally not needed as house has alternative heating options.
    I am generally clean, though not immaculate. I appreciate someone who is similar.

    Cabin property is the first priority - cleaning and repairing it so that you will be able to move in to as soon as possible and and finish the work there and on other parts of the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is an adventurer's paradise. Outdoor activity, extraordinary motorcycle rides, home of blue grass, University culture 40 miles away, mountains, hardworking people dedicated to sustainable living. Skiing in area. Wonderful people - both long time residents of Appalachia with family names and family cemeteries and lots of us new folk look to maintain the land and live a great life. Fun craft bars and local breweries. ) If not, Appalachia State University is in Boone (40 miles away) supports 18,000 students. The next town over (15 miles from my home and about 8 miles from the School project) is West Jefferson. West Jefferson is a touristy kind of town with lots of galleries and a couple of taverns. It is growing rapidly since people leaving cities for a change of life spurred on by Covid. There is also music in West Jefferson during the summer. Great murals on the walls outdoors. It was originally a railroad town after the Civil War. There are box stores in West Jefferson too - Walmart, Lowes, Tractor Supply. Lots of Civil War history down here too. You can always hike on my 200 acres. Bring good hiking boots! Steep mountain trails. So much more to tell. Check out the Creeper Trail. It goes all the way in to Damascus, VA following the old railroad. It is also a fun town. Ask questions...happy to answer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have solid internet; it rarely goes down. Verizon, AT&T and Carolina West are typically ok to use here on my mountain home.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have 200 acres. There is a very private spot close to the paved road which is easily accessible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    30-40 hours weekly


Host ref number: 438485411691