Help our family with childcare, daily life and with our sled dogs in Swedish Lapland

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for volunteers for childcare, household, maintenance and work with dogs.

    Together with our two years old son we are a small family living our dream in Swedish Lapland. Originally we come from Switzerland/Germany but live up in the North since 2014 working with sleddogs. Since autumn 2020 we are building up our own small husky kennel and now we have 16 adorable Alaskan Huskies. We live near a small village but directly at our place we have only two neighbours plus wonderful nature and a lot of wildlife: moose, reindeers, deers, rabbits or squirrels are regular visitors on our yard.

    There is always a lot to do when you buy an old Swedish house and have dogs and a child. So we would be happy to find a reliable and motivated volunteer who wants to help us with all tasks around childcare, household, renovation and maintenance and also daily work with the dogs.

    We are mainly looking for help for the upcoming winter season but there are also possibilities for summer help. We prefer if you could stay for a longer period so that our son has time to get to know you before you spend time together. Also if you work with the dogs it’s a big advantage if you know their personalities. We don’t take workawayers for less than three weeks.

    What we expect from you:
    - you should love kids and dogs and being outside
    - you are responsible, hard working and flexible
    - you are at least 22 years old
    - you are physically fit for work
    - non-smoker, no drugs
    - you have a driving license (a car is a plus)
    - you speak preferably German or Swedish (so that our son can understand you), eventually good English is also ok
    - you can stay at least 3 weeks

    If you want to apply please send information on who you are, what education and work experience you have, why you want to stay with us and what expectations you have as well as the time frame for your stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What you get in exchange: you will definitely have unforgettable experiences and get a lot of love and cuddles from the dogs. We will teach you everything we know about mushing and outdoor life. When it suits into the booking plan you will have the possibility to follow us in training or on tours with the dogs. You will have the possibility to enjoy our beautiful surroundings, meeting a lot of wild animals and see the Northern lights.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks we ask you to do is taking care of our son (e.g. play with him for 2h while we are out with the dogs or making trails), tidy up the house, sometimes cooking, taking wood in the house for heating, help with maintenance work in the house or on the yard, eventually help with renovation and - in winter most important - shovel snow.

    You will have the possibility to work with our wonderful dogs together with us, help with feeding, cleaning the kennel, putting wood chips in the dog houses, prepare dogs for training or tours, check and eventually repair equipment, etc.

    You should be aware that the work can be physically demanding, especially when it’s cold and dark outside. Also, it is not always possible to plan everything in advance, so tasks can change during the day.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be provided with accommodation and food. That means you live together with us in our house, you have your own room, we share kitchen, living room and bathroom. We eat together (if time allows) and make a plan who is cooking when.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited Wifi that can be used by our volunteers. It's mobile internet so if the weather is really bad it can happen that the connection is not so good, but usually it is quite good and fast connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Eventually a dog can be accepted (depends on the dog and if he can live outside). Please provide more information if you want to come with your dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 438463199922