Help with sled dogs and life off grid in a semi-remote location near Fairbanks, Alaska

Country

United States

Favourited 183 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Nita. I live off the grid, 25 miles northwest of Fairbanks, Alaska. We offer tours with sled dogs, and aurora viewing. There is no public transportation and we do not go to town unless it's necessary, usually 1-2 times per week. Cell phones work most of the time. Internet access is very limited. There is no TV.
    There is plenty of solitude, hiking, camping, berry picking, and enjoying the outdoors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a semi remote location in Alaska is an amazing experience. The Alaskan musher lifestyle is unique. Living with sled dogs in an extreme climate with beautiful landscapes and the Aurora Borealis or the midnight sun is like nothing else.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    15-20 sled dogs require lots of care and lots of love. Feeding, scooping poop, exercising, training, etc.

    Living off grid requires learning to use solar power, conserving water and more chores in general than living on grid in a city or suburb.

    Summer here means getting ready for winter. The work is physical but rewarding and in a beautiful setting.
    Trail making and maintenance is hard work and safe use of a chainsaw is necessary. Firewood needs to be cut and stacked. Sled dog houses, fencing and gear need to be repaired and replaced.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a DRY cabin. This means we have no running water. Our toilet is an outhouse. Showers are in town once per week. We get water from town for drinking, cooking, animals, washing etc.

    Day time summer temperatures are around 70 F, nights 35-50F.
    Daytime winter temperatures are -20 to +40F, nights -40 to +20F.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You must love dogs. They are the #1 priority.

    We live 25 miles from town. Typically we go down several times a week but it's not guaranteed. There is no bus line, etc. You would be dependent on us for transportation.

    There's lots of hiking, biking, and wilderness areas to explore.

    If you love dogs, physical activity, solitude and wilderness you'll love it here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 437774647755