Help us on our journey and vision in making our farm an environmentally friendly and creative playground for like mind people. UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself Silas and My wife Mary both moved from London to beautiful Rural North Devon to be closer to nature and have a different way of life. Silas is a Freelance Sound engineer/ producer / Dj and Mary is a Freelance TV Production Manager/Producer. We would love to make our farm an Eco enhancing, learning and creative playground for like minded people. We have lots of ideas but with only two sets of hands we are hoping to have some help with creating or contributing to our vision on our farm.

    since moving to Devon almost 3 years ago we have been learning and implementing some permaculture practices on the land, we have planted over 100 nut trees, and various fruit trees, with a passion to keep growing more!

    we are both keen on interior design, art and music and our ethos is to reuse, recycle and up-cycle where we can.

    we are looking for friendly, hardworking people with a 'can do' attitude who are willing to get their hands dirty and also have fun on the way!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sadly we only speak English, and Mary speaks a little Hakka which is a Chinese Dialect. Silas has traveled extensively around the world through his work and has lived in New Zealand for 12 years.

    I am a trained Sound engineer and is very happy to share any knowledge and collaborate on musical projects.

    Expanding my knowledge on permaculture and sharing what i have picked up along the way.

    Mary is a great vegetarian cook and has a passion for up cycling furniture and interior design.

    We grow our own apples and every year we make our own cider.

  • Help

    Help

    Decorating, Gardening, building projects, tree planting, landscaping, music, permaculture, website design, graphic design, carpentry, cleaning, arborists, cooking vegetarian meals, sawing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hakka

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A traditional Farm house, 2 bedroom self contained barn conversation, with bathroom and fully equipped kitchen, 1 bedroom annex with own bathroom and use of a shared kitchen.

    The farm has a newly refurbished Recording studio and live room, games barn and caravan surrounded by 20 acres of land in the the beautiful north Devon countryside. 10 min drive to the nearest coast and 20 mins to a surf beach. Vegetarian/Vegan household only.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest Train Station Barnstable! Nearest airport Exeter.

    North Devon is known for the beautiful rugged coastlines and surf beaches.

    Due to our remote location, a driving license would be benefitial or even better, your own hired vehicle or otherwise there is a bus from the nearest village that takes you into town. We can potentially collect and drop off at the nearest train station if necessary. The nearest train station is Barnstaple.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 435886569577