Need help for our off-grid homestead at the head of the Kootenay Lake, British Colombia, Canada



Favourited 157 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a family of three (Bob, Jane and baby Yili) living in a rural community, Argenta, situated in the beautiful north end of Kootenay Lake or Purcell Mountain range. We have a 2-acre property. Our log house is off-grid but with a small micro-hydro system. We are in the process of setting up solar system.

    Our homestead is right in the heart of the wilderness. It's a 10 min hike-in from the road to our house. We started a large organic garden and a green house in 2012, which grows so much food for us. We have 2 milking goats and about 20 egg-laying ducks. Jane makes yogurts and cheese from the goat milk.

    Jane used to work as a wildlife biologist before becoming a stay-at-home mom. At her spare time, she does felted paintings. She also makes amazing raw chocolates. In 2014, she started an outdoor environmental education program for the local children. Bob currently works as an operational manager for a local internet provider in Kaslo, otherwise he works on our homestead a lot. Baby Yili was born in October 2012, and is our current certifier of being organice.

    There are tons of opportunities to hike in the alpine, canoeing, go fishing in Kootenay lake, ski-touring in the winter, and mingling (playing music, some sports) with our amazing community.

    This year, work includes gardening, taking care of animals (you will learn to milk goats only if you wish to), building an addition to our current house, re-fencing, creating terraces for an orchard, fixing the root cellar, collecting firewood, fire-proving the surrounding forests, and maybe a wood heated hot-tub project. In the fall, Jane does a lot of food preserving, fruit and tomato sauces, sauerkraut and kimchi. Playing and discovering the world with Yili is another "work" if you like kids.

    We would love to share our simple, peaceful, yet busy life with wonderful friends from all over the world.

    Update: We are welcome helpers from February on!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    We really appreciate hard working qualities. It is okay if you are not familiar with certain tasks. But it is important that you are eager to learn, enjoy what you are doing, and work hard. I don't appreciated volunteers who comes to our homestead just to have cheaper travel cost, and always looking forward to the break time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We recently fixed up our helpers' cabin. It has its own very simple kitchen and outhouse. The inside is also very cozy with my touch of art work and fabric hanging. We built shelves and counters. However it is still too cold to stay from November to mid-March. We do have an extra large room with a queen size bed in our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are good hosts. We provide all organic food. We take volunteers on camping/hiking trips (not always, depending on the season).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 435581763396