Extra pair of hands to join our family in Ghent, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Mom Lieve (59y), Dad Bart (61y) and Daughter Relinde (33y) living together under one roof in Oostakker, close to the city of Ghent (apx 5 km). We have 2 very sweet cats check out their instagram oban_and_orval. We live in a big house with a big garden. In the back of the garden are 2 more houses. One is rented out long term, and in the other lives our son and his lovely family. We all work full time (sometimes at home), but Mom will be taking time off in september.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we live close to the center of Ghent, there are a lot of options for museums, art performances, monuments, restaurants etc. Ghent is also a university city so there are lots of events for young people.

  • Help

    Help

    We are finally making our home wheelchair accessible. The contractor intends to start with demolishing a part of the house, and we need to strip it in september. For this, we are looking for a pair (or two) of extra hands. If there is time, we may make the garden look a bit better than it does today.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two guest rooms, one with a double bed, the other with twin beds. Bathrooms and kitchen are shared. There is wifi. You will live with us. We are used to eating 3 meals a day: breakfast (bread meal, fruit bowl or cereals, unless you prefer to prepare something of your own) - lunch - dinner (sometimes the hot meal will be eaten at noon, sometimes in the evening, depending on our schedules). We love spicy food, but we can adapt to our guests. We are open to learn new flavours and look forward to exchanging recipes. Smoking is allowed outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus stop is at 200 m from the house. If you share your interests, we can help look up information for you. We speak Dutch, English and French fluently, and also German, Spanish and Portuguese (not so fluently => only Mom)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi on ground and 1st floor, weak connection on 2nd floor. There is a desk in both guest rooms and enough plugs.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is ample parking space in the street. Given the works, the space in the backyard will not be available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 432599177828