Help me care for my children in Cumberland, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    301

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jenn and I am moving from Vancouver to my home in the Comox Valley in September. I have two amazing boys Liam and Dylan who are 10 and 8 years old. I will be working as a nurse in the local hospital. Love being close to nature and there is so much to do outdoors here. I will be living in a house in Cumberland which is a very cosy village and friendly community that is 30 mins away from Mount Washington where we snowboard. We are located an hour north of the Nanaimo ferry so getting to Vancouver is easy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have travelled extensively with other travel websites and enjoy meeting people from all over the world. I like the good will and trust that is shared when traveling this way. Cumberland is a unique village and the opportunities for exploring the area are endless. This is the perfect area for anyone into snowboarding and untouched forests, beaches and lakes. There are many islands nearby to visit. It is possible to volunteer at the local mountain and get a free pass.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for a female traveller who can help care for my kids. My older son is on the autistic spectrum so experience with this would be useful. Looking for care mon-fri 2 hours before and 1hour after school. Engaging with them, helping them get ready for school as well as helping them with their school work is what I am looking for. If you have any special knowledge you would like to share that is a bonus. Previous experience with kids, a criminal record check and references would be required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a bit of French and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room in my three bedroom house and food would be included. I am vegetarian but you are welcome to eat meat and you could request that I pick up specific food that you like. I cook daily and you are welcome to eat with us or eat your own food if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of hikes in the area as well as lakes, beaches and snowboarding. Although there are buses I am happy to help with transport on occasion when I am available. I have a bike you can use as well. I am open minded and tolerant as long as people are respectful. My philosophy is 'live and let live' and I believe actions speak louder than words. I don't have many party's but it happens on occasion. I try and keep a clean house while not getting too carried away with it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Mount Washington is a thirty minute drive from our place in Cumberland. One of the reasons I decided to move to the area.
Liam and Dylan at Miracle Beach about 15 mins from our place in Cumberland
Dylan and Liam on the Sunshine Coast, a quick ferry ride away.
Liam and Dylan at Trout Lake
My friend Jenny from Seattle who I met through Couchsurfing a few years back.
Liam and Dylan in Lynn Valley, North Vancouver
My house in Cumberland, BC
Me and my boys Liam and Dylan.
Couchsurfing friends summer 2015 at a festival in Finland.

Host ref number: 415247568285