Help a family farm and their horses South of the Artic Circle in Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    385

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Swedish Family living in the North of Sweden. We live here with 40 horses, 3 dogs, 1 rabbit and 1 cat. We have a riding school for children and adults and we rent out boxes for horses. In summer we are organising riding camps and trail rides in one of the most beautiful places in Sweden. Our farm is located 25 kms west of Piteå City and 100 kms South of the Artic Circle.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a beautiful place for nature loving people. You can join our riding tours the whole year and improve your ridings skills with riding lessons. In summer we are fishing salmon, siwimming in the river and hiking. In winter you can go skiing , driving a snow mobile, driving a horse sledge. You can pick berries and mushrooms, if you like to. If you are lucky you will maybe see a bear, moose or reindeers. We are pleased to show you around in the area and taking you out for trips in the nature by horse, boat, feet or car. Often the long summer evenings end up at a fire with a barbeque.

  • Help

    Help

    We need some help for the daily work in our riding school. This includes help with taking care of the horses, cleaning the stable and the pastures, feeding the horses, give them water etc. You should have some experience in animal care, be reliable, like to help outside in all weather, be able to help on your own and speak Swedish or English. You should like to be out in the nature and enjoy the silence, because we live a few kilometers away from a village out in the Swedish Forests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in an own cabin close to our house including a bed. The bathroom is in the house. You will join the meals with our family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The seasons in this part of Sweden are so different and all are special. The spring ist often wet and all the snow is melting away. It is slippery outside and the work is sometimes not so comfortable. The summers are short but so beatiful with the long days when the sun is shining all summer, but there are also many mosquitos who share our life. The autumns are full of colours. The winters are long and dark, but full of snow. It can be really cold here in winter, up to -35 degrees, so you should be prepared with some good cloth. But when you see the Northern lights dancing in the sky on a very cold night you will really enjoy the winter.

    There is a bus connection to Älvsbyn and Piteå 2 kms from the farm and the possibilty to use our car. The airport is in Luleå 60 kilometers from Sikfors. The closest trainstation is in Älvsbyn 25 kilometers away. Volonteers will be picked up from the station/airport.

    The local sights is our beatiful nature and we spend most of our time off in the nature and/or with our horses.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 413639922244