Enjoy art, language and a creative journey with a cat-loving family in Bogotá, Colombia

  • Favourited 121 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Wellcome

    We are a small family of three living near downtown Bogotá. In this household you will find Anastasia the cat, Connie, Leo and some plants.
    Make sure before going any further that you feel confortable around cats and familiar with taking care of this little fellows.

    We are an easy going couple of artists living in a very interesting part of Bogotá where you will be able have a taste of life in this massive city. Public transport is very near by, the historic center is 15 minutes away. This whole area is surrounded by Universities, parks, discotheques, bars, museums and much more, you name it, yes also karaokes, there is a lot to do and see. We work from home in various projects and the place is also our art studio and creative lab. Even tho our apartment isn’t very big there is space for writing, reading, playing instruments, drawing and even printmaking. If you are proactive and creative person, please make yourself at home and enjoy the space too.

    Connie is a biologist and illustrator who has a fascination for bugs and life in general. If you are interested in Colombias biodiversity and want to know more about one of the most diverse countries in the world, don’t hesitate on asking. They work as science divulgator and social activist through animation and comics. Also loves everything that has to do with baking delicious pies. She/They/them pronouns.
    
Leo is also an artist from Bogotá, very interested in landscapes and plants. Has done workaway before and strongly believes in the power of teamwork and the beautiful opportunities of cultural exchange this platform brings.
    They have been a tattoo artist for many years and still work on some projects, currently collaborates with Connie as a concept artist in the creation of comics and animations. Loves music and enjoy playing guitar. He/They/Them pronouns.

    We both love traveling and enjoy ourselves in nature. If you want to visit interesting sites inside or outside the city we will tell you the easiest and best way to get there. Also whenever we are available we would like to show you around, Bogota holds place for every type of person, may you find yours. We are very social and love to have fun dance nights, karaoke, jams and hangout with friends, feel welcome to join.
    We also value a lot our private and alone time and are constantly learning to take care about our health and organization . We like to recharge our social batteries from time to time. In general while we are in the city don’t go out much and spent most of the time in the house working or doing shores. We are always involved in some art project that might intermittently occupy common spaces. Connie is a fashion lover so you might as well hit them up if you want some cool makeup or outfit for the day . We like having nice and safe space to live on, we are very clumsy too. We love food and our meals are mainly vegetarian although Leo every now and then cooks chicken. We enjoy learning and sharing recipes, also having meals with our guests. We like to have friends and family visiting , all of our circles are LGBTQ+ friendly. We’re both nonbinary, we use any pronouns and we’re a 100% queer safe home were you wont be judged for your identity or preferences. We’re very respectful of other’s boundaries and we like to have healthy and respectful ways of communication.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is near a city hotspot with karaokes, beer, food and the best dance disco in Bogotá, you will discover the huge gastronomic variety nearby. There is a very active night life that you can join whenever you feel like it, if you want recommendations, ask away. There are many bus stations nearby so you’ll have access to main routes to go across the city.

    We are very overqualified with many interests in different fields regarding Colombian history, music, theater, art and politics. With us you can learn about the grandiose biodiversity of Colombia and it’s context. If you are looking for cultural exchanges we have lots to offer

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on your profile and skills we will ask for you to achieve specific tasks during the week. Please be very honest about the things you are good at, what you enjoy and what you are learning also. Based on this we will plan different projects in order to make the most out of our time together. We all have our strengths.

 Will expand more on this.

    Care is a DAILY TASK 24/7 please be proactive at helping us maintain a nice and clean environment. There are lots of things to do, but taking care of each other and this space that kindly host us is always prioritize. This is important in-order to keep the wellbeing of everything and everyone that lives in here. You can positively impact the place and help us make things easier and nice in the every day details.  We all do our best and have the will to improve.

    We are looking for someone who helps us with:

    -Language practice; we both have been studying Japanese the past year and believe that nothing is as helpful as talking to someone who has domain over the language. We would like to visit Nippon soon enough, If you are a patient person fluent in Japanese and have the will of speaking to us and repeating over and over. Look no further, we have a place for you. We will mostly appreciate every effort you do in order for us to be able to hold conversations. 
Every now and then will ask you for help with very basic exercises. We are very curious people and like to ask lots of questions.

    -Art Project; if you are a creative person with attention to detail and good at working with your hands please read next: Leo is currently working at a printmaking project and needs assistance in the workshop. You will be needed to perform very simple tasks although it is important you are able to follow instructions and concentrate doing things consciously. Depending if you are or not familiar with the process, you will learn or refine your skills. If you are an artist we would like to explore the possibility of a collaboration. Please send us your artwork.

    If you know about :
    
Acroyoga and healthy exercise routines we are very interested to learn more about this, we aren’t very athletic but would like to improve out health with yoga and similars, strengthen our bags and arms.
    We would like to dedicate some time of the week to this activity.

    We will work with active pauses AROUND 5 hours a day sometimes it might be less, sometimes more, have in mind that each task is different and requires different times to get done. Ideally we will be achieving certain goals each day as some tasks can’t be left halfway. Don’t worry we are gonna actively respect and balance this times. The idea is that everyone will have good energy and the time to enjoy and do the things we like the most. The weekends are for you to enjoy yourself going around or resting, please make the most out of your time being.

    WE ARE MOSTLY NIGHT OWLS not very good at waking up early. we prefer working in the afternoons until night time, if you like waking up early please make yourself at home, have some breakfast, there will be ingredients for you to use. We use this time of the day to run errands, do planing, sometimes buy groceries, or exercise, please join us to the local market, we will be happy to bring and cook fruits and veggies.

    After mid day we start cooking lunch for everyone and getting everything ready for a productive afternoon/night. We would like you to be present in this moments and give a hand in the kitchen, cooking or helping with the cleaning.
    From 3 to 8pm we do art, and that’s about it. We always clean up when the day is over to keep mess under control. After that, each can relax in the way of preference. If you wanna dinner out there is nice variety of options around within every price range. We usually do something at home with the left overs for supper, please let us know in advance if you will be joining us to eat.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are very interested into learning Japanese, please write to us if you have domain over the language and are willing to help us improve. We will also be happy to speak to you in spanish constantly if your goal is to improve and practice

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You’ll be staying in your own room, with a single bunk bed, fuzzy blankets a big window and access to the balcony. There’s just one bathroom in the flat, so we’ll be sharing the space with mindfulness of each other’s time and wellbeing. We have a nice kitchen where we all cook. Connie is a vegetarian and we eat mostly plant based food prepared from scratch.

    Anastasia, our CAT and family, is really calm, clean and fluffy. We love her a lot and take much care about her. She’ll be around the house freely at all times. She isn’t allowed to go outside, and you’ll have to be very responsible about watching the windows and doors so she doesn’t go out, please keep an eye on her.
    We have a chimney for cold or hang out nights, many books you can grab and enjoy (please be mindful about their place)
    If you like music, we have a stage where we jam with various instruments will be happy to hear you interpreting something.
    We have limited internet access from personal hotspot that can share with you anytime. If you want more independence we can also help you find a cheap internet plan for you to use on your cellphone.
    We live in a third floor without elevator.

    We’re very tidy with cleanness and hygiene so you’ll be encouraged to tidy up the things you use in the kitchen, bathroom and rest of spaces. This apartment is our shelter and home so you can help us give it love and keep it nice for all of us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There’s 45th street just a block away with all types of bars including salsa, karaoke, pubs, art houses, etc. There’s many small stores and markets to get supplies around and also places to eat. Our home is nearby Universidad Javeriana with an open campus and library. You will be 15 minutes away from city’s downtown where you can explore Bogotá and Colombia’s history, art and gastronomy. The city’s transport system Transmilenio is a block away. With it you can go in a reasonable time to almost every part of the city. You’ll get to see from our balcony the western mountains that enclose Bogotá, there are many
    hike roads on it and they’re not far away. Bogotá is a really rainy city so be sure to bring your waterproof shoes!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 412424353968

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Experience ecovillage living and permaculture in San Miguel, Colombia
Come and help us to build our therapeutic center, Intiwasi, in Circasia- Quindio, Colombia