Join our family in Herefordshire countryside looking for help outdoors within our land in UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Herefordshire English speaking family with myself Leah , my husband Chris and our 5 year old daughter Elsie and our lovable dog Binka. We live in a beautiful grade 2 listed farmhouse that we recently renovated ourselves after leaving town life in Cheltenham. Country life is peaceful, full of wildlife and nature which we love. We are surrounded by 4.5 acres of our own land with a stream running through it which leads into our big pond with leaping trout that we enjoy feeding. Family life is full of fun and adventure and our daughter heads off to school each day at 9am. We then set to and tackle the adventures of keeping our large garden and land under control. I am an artist and spend some days painting and planning workshops and Chris Runs a coffee shop where he does Barsita courses and teaches people about the history of coffee and the art of making the perfect cup!

    We both love to travel and have enjoyed exploring the world together and more recently with our daughter in a campervan! Family life for us , is fun, outdoors and adventurous with walks, quad bike rides, tree climbing and much more.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love sitting down together and eating together and enjoy our food, so this will be a great opportunity to have a chat over our meal and talk about or days and experiences . We have travelled a lot and love to learn new things about people and places as does our daughter. You can explore the local countryside with lovely nature walks and bird watching, we have a resident barn owl nesting at the moment and many birds and birds of prey. We live close to a historic city with an amazing cathedral which is rich in history and there is so much to experience. My mum cooks for a local farmers market and my brother works with copper making jewellery and my father is a sheep farmer so you might even get to feed some baby lambs. We live in a farming and rural community where there is lots to explore and lots of interesting neighbours who walk by with their dogs. We have many small market towns near by with beautiful architecture which is fascinating and there are many food markets and festivals during the summer months.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for practical help to do outdoor tasks, help with gardening, general maintenence of our outbuildings and clearing. Chris loves to make things out of wood and reclaimed materials that we have found on our land, he always has a project on the go or is up a ladder or driving the quad bike and felling trees, I am often found with my gloves on, pushing the wheelbarrow, digging, pruning, clearing and landscaping and building interesting areas in our garden. In the 4.5 acres you can imagine there is always something to do and our latest project is rennovating some old stables which we would love some help with, painting, decorating, wood work and general maintenance.

    We love working outdoors as much as possible and are looking for someone who is happy to be outdoors too with us and someone who doesn’t mind mucking in. We are both hard working but enjoy breaks of a good cup of coffee on one of our many benches or swings that Chris has made and eating a freshly baked cake that I have baked.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 4 bedroom, old country house. You will have the comfort of your own king sized bed in our beautiful spare bedroom. You will have internet access and share our family bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do where we live, We are a rural location with beautiful walks and a pub in walking distance. We are 5 miles from a shop. Your own means of transport would be desirable but we provide a road bike and there is a local bus service that runs regularly. We are 7 miles from The city of Hereford which is a cathedral city that lies on the river wye and there is also a train station should you want to explore further. We enjoy our big garden, watching wildlife, gardening and feeding our fish in the pond. Running, cycling are our favourite past times and we have a zip wire in our garden for a bit of adventure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 399426611771