Come Workaway and stay at our happy family finca in Costa del Sol, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English and Welsh couple who have lived in Coin, Costa del Sol, Spain for 12 years. Alan was an accountant who has gone on to study holistic medicine and hypnosis. Lesley is a holistic practitioner and helps facilitate retreats here in Spain. We have 3 dogs, Sam, Poppy and Figo and all our children live in the rain, sorry the UK.

    We live in an area called Zambargo in a two bedroomed Finca set in a beautiful ravine with open aspects to the countryside and the sun all day. We have Almond, Olive and Oak trees with a small private woods to the back of the land where we have sighted an authentic Mongolian Yurt. On a daily basis you will hear the bells of the goats and sheep being herded across the mountain by the Shepherd. The nearest venta/bar/restaurant to us is only a 3 minute drive away and the medieval town of Coin is a 5 minutes drive.

    We are located about 30 minutes from the airport of Malaga, 25 minutes from Marbella and Benalmadena, close to many golf courses and is very centrally located. It is a place that is expanding fast and is becoming a place of residence for many foreigners. We are 25 minutes from the beautiful Ardeles Lakes, the El Choro Gorge (great for abseiling/climbing) and one an a half hours drive to Sierra Nevada, Granada and the Alhambra Palace.

    Coin is one of the most up and coming villages on the Costa del Sol. Though it dates back to the Roman era, it is essentially an Arabic town, situated in the Valle del Guadalhorce, at the foot of the northern face of the Sierra de Alpujata in the province of Malaga. Villages nearby are; Alhaurin el Grande, Alhaurin de la Torre, Mijas, Monda, Ojen and Cartama. The town contains a number of places and features of interest to the tourist thanks to its geographic location at the foot sierras, which makes up the coastal range. Spots of immense beauty to be found here include the forests of Alpujata, La Fuente, El Charco del Infierno and La Albuquera.

    The village has a wealth of important architecture including several churches. The church of San Andres is also know as the Caridad and forms part of the hospital. The church of San Juan is one of the largest churches in the province and has been officially declared a national monument. The centre has a wonderful plaza where the old Town Hall is located. The new Town Hall is located in another new plaza (Plaza de la Via) with an underground car park, fountains, gardens and several fine bars. The small, narrow streets are lined with family owned shops and a new commercial centre, La Trocha, has been built on the outskirts of town, on the road to Cartama. For a town of this size, the variety of places to eat in Coin is astonishing and we boast some of the best around.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help immediately before the summer. We need volunteers with certain skills, building, plastering, carpentry or general D.I.Y. knowledge to help us create more shade around the Finca and outside storage. We want to build a car port, Gazebo, some pavements and develop a veg garden and finally develop a web site.

    Volunteers would work 5 days a week, 5 hours a day, days to suit you and in return we offer free accommodation and meals. We are flexible regarding giving lifts to the town and back or to the bus terminus.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers can either stay in the Finca (Non smoking ) with us in a double room with use of their own bathroom/shower/toilet or in the Yurt and use the Finca facilities. We can also sight a double tent in the garden or near to the Yurt.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a very relaxed couple and flexible so volunteers can come and go as they please in their free time and where possible we can give lifts into the town or bus terminus and pick up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The Woods
View from guest bedroom and similar view from the Yurt
Host ref number: 398286612961