Help a retired couple with their bio-garden and animals in Saint Sulpice les Bois, France

Country

France

Favourited 148 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Michelle and Bruno, 61 and 64. We live in a refurbished farmhouse (which we renovated ourselves) on the high plateau of Millevaches, in the department of Correze.
    We are renovating the house and its surroundings in an ecological way that respects its original character, construction materials and techniques. We take pride in our home and find joy in creating a warm and hospitable atmosphere for all.
    In addition to this, we are building a large vegetable and fruit garden through organic cultivation. We also have chickens, an apiary, as well as two donkeys and a horse that can be harnessed.
    The house is situated in a small village surrounded by beautiful, wild, untouched nature in the heart of a natural park.
    We are an active couple who practice Tai chi and Qigong. We believe in eating well with fresh, bio ingredients. Michelle is a great and experienced cook/baker with a wealth of recipes to impart to those who are interested in french cuisine (and patisserie!) We make our own jams and conserves from fruits harvested from our backyard :)
    We also enjoy music (Michelle plays the piano and Bruno, the guitar).
    In all, we love to impart and exchange knowledge, and we know quite a fair bit on gardening, rural development, conservation, and DIY. We welcome all with a good attitude. Do not hesitate to contact us for more information!

    P.S. We only speak french at home, so for those who are keen to practice french, it will be a truly immersive environment :)

    Michelle et Bruno 56 et 59 ans, nous habitons dans une ancienne fermette sur le plateau des millevaches en haute Correze.
    Nous rénovons la maison et ses abords en essayant de lui conserver son caractère d'origine , choix des matériaux et des techniques.
    La maison est située dans un petit village en pleine nature au coeur d'une parc naturel dans une région assez sauvage.
    Nous avons un grand jardin, potager, fruitier, ornement.
    Nous avons deux ânes des poules des ruches et un cheval
    Nous pratiquons le Tai chi et le Chiç qong.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe in openly sharing our home and lives with our workaways. If there is something that you wish to learn, ask away!

  • Help

    Help

    Several types of work and apprenticeship are possible, depending on the skills and desires of each individual, as well as the season:
    - Organic gardening: planting, soil preparation, and raising a vegetable garden of 500m2
    - Raising an ornamental garden: constructing amenities, planting, fence installation, hedge construction etc.
    - Preparing firewood
    - Maintenance of donkeys/horse: feeding, brushing out
    - Maintenance of donkeys/horse's meadow: logging, pruning, planting pickets etc. ..
    - Apiary: cleaning and preparing the hives
    - DIY: laying a parquet floor, lime-rendered walls, building furnishings and cupboards etc ...
    - For those who are culinary-inclined or who wish to learn, you are welcome to help in the kitchen as well as prepare our conserves and jam

    Plusieurs travaux sont possibles
    Travaux au jardin potager préparation du sol plantation et entretien d'un potager de 500m2
    Travaux d'aménagement du jardin d'agréments; plantation, aménagement de barrière, création de haie etc..
    Entretien des ânes: les nourrir, les brosser les sortir
    Aménagement du pré des ânes; bucheronnage, élagage, plantations de piquets etc..
    Travaux au rucher nettoyage et préparation des ruches
    Travaux dans la maison; pose d'un parquet ancien, enduits à la chaux aménagement de placards etc...
    Travaux à répartir selon les compétences et les souhaits des stagiaires

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is offered in an independent bakery converted into a guest room. Thatched roof, bathroom with terracotta flooring and a private WC.

    Le logement est proposé dans un fournil indépendant aménagé en chambre d'hôte. Toit en chaume, carrelage en terre cuite salle de bain et WC privatif.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    De mai à septembre (From May-Sep)
    no smoking
    cuisine bio

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (Max. 25 hours/week)







Host ref number: 397325454496