Come share your skills and ideas to help with a plethora of projects in Newfoundland, Canada

  • Favourited 68 times
  • Last activity: 16 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My son and I live in a typical rowhouse in downtown St. John's, Newfoundland ...atypically, it is gray and not colourful (on the outside anyway... .lol :).. I run an education nonprofit called building-U that works remotely with high school students from different places in the world to provide different kinds of free and useful resources for themselves and their peers. My son is an older student in the Naval Architecture program at the Marine Institute. We have an overly enthusiastic dog (J. J.) and an oddly friendly and affectionate cat (Nygl).

    We are pretty easygoing and flexible with most things, though draw a harder line at shoes and smoking in the house. (Cozy slippers provided) I do like cooking and experimenting with things but more like rustic peasant cuisine; I always use recipes... if not for directions, at least for inspiration :).I will definitely do my best to try to work with dietary restrictions; I'm pretty comfortable accommodating vegetarian and vegan needs because of cooking with and for my daughter -- but I would need to be clear on the restrictions for any food allergies, and if I know I cannot accommodate (like peanuts -- there is for sure peanut butter in the house!), I will definitely make that clear beforehand!

    We have a number of different kinds of projects that are ongoing or looking to get underway. I am very passionate about glass recyclying and about sustainability initiatives in general am looking into exploring effective soiless soil options created from a mixture of crushed glass and food compost. We have actually made some progress on this (shout out to Juniper from Australia and Eli from France!) and have designed and put together our glass crusher! Check out our Youtube Short! -ask us for the link
    We are now experimenting with growing things in it and using it as a sand substitute underneath sawdust for chicken bedding... Yes, we just got a small chicken coop and 2 small hens (Willa and Annalise...aka 'Willy' and 'Nilly')

    We also have a small long backyard that has a some legacy flower beds on one side and a small vegetable garden started on the other side of the yard. My neighbour has a beautiful black currant bush that I would love to coax to expand its reach :). Beyond this, I am looking to turn the entire yard into an edible garden. Thanks to Mareen from Germany, Dasa from Slovenia, Max from the US, Dovile from Lithuania, and Felix from France, we have a bit of start to this. New perspectives are definitely helping to transform my backyard little by little! I always welcome garden planning and planting support.

    We have a few upcycling projects now on the go: pink white and green Newfoundland flag candles made from old candles and toilet paper rolls, paper quilling containers and trim, soywax storage wraps, and amish knot braided rugs from old bedsheets -

    We are always experimenting with upcycling DIY crafts and projects... Love making useful and beautiful things from waste :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Great hiking. Very colourful and friendly place. Let's just say there are a great many free ways to have an entirely different cultural experience when you step onto Newfoundland!

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned in the overview, there are a few different projects that travellers can help with... from
    Gardening: simple indoor and outdoor planting and weeding to help with designing and creating new garden beds
    Glass Crushing: helping put together and test economically viable and effective small scale solutions... for different sizes of crushed glasss
    Glass Sand for use in outdoor paths and walkways and also as a base for the homade recycled candles mentioned above.
    Painting: Much of it seems to be done for the moment, but projects may pop up!
    Soywax Reusable Wraps
    No-Sew Amish Knot Braided Rug making from old sheets ...
    And, paper quilling trim and container projects (from junk mail circulars)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    2 bedrooms with separate entrance in a sort of untraditionally termed walkout basement in a downtown St. John's row house. There are 2 single beds and a private bathroom. Breakfast is provided and light snacks are provided. Dinners are included more on a shared basis, meaning guests are welcome to contribute an item and/ or participate in meal preparation at times .. always sensitive to any food restrictions and aversions ofc :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Stroll down to the Harbour and walk through the town of St.John's. There is always something going on downtown and in the summer the whole main street is closed to cars. Easy access through walking or a drive or bus ride to walk to Signal Hill. Check out Qidi Vidi, where there are great views, hiking, and craft beer! There are endless beautiful hikes - the East Coast Trail ...one more beautiful than the next. You can always check out Memorial University or the College of the North Atlantic. Blueberry late summer and Partridgeberry picking late fall, whale watching, and iceberg spotting (all depending on the time of year). There is a nearby ferry to the very unusual Bell Island (35 sq km island that looks like it's a puzzle piece of rock face edges that has been pushed out of the ocean). And that's just stuff that's here all the time!. There's always different events and festivals.. It's a very festive place!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I live in downtown St. John's and so have great access to internet. In addition I have a large front office desk and workspace and other common living spaces that workawayers are welcome to share.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This is something I would love to say unconditionally yes to, but there are a few caveats. We do have a dog ( J. J. ) and a cat (Ngyl) who sort of get along famously. Although Ngyl will probably get along with any kind animal, and although I would welcome the opportunity to get J. J. accustomed to other dogs in his space, and better behaved with other dogs in general, I think that he would likely be a better match for someone with a cat. He is fascinated by cats anywhere :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours most days x 5 days

Host ref number: 397183826667

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Gardening and homestead projects in Bonshaw, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Help me around my unique home and garden in Salt Spring Island, Canada