Volunteer in the Stara Planina Mountains.

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2017

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm is run by myself and my 3 year old son, located south of Veliko Turnovo. It is run organically and also working along the lines of permaculture, companion planting etc..

    There are rabbits, Muscovy ducks, chickens, and guinea fowl, as well as cats and dogs on the farm.

    This is the forth year on the farm and there is everything to do or improve upon, from maintaining the drive, starting a living hedge, creating a new area around the reed beds, to standard fencing, building raised beds, fixing animal pens, making new ones, even sorting out a small play park for the children.

    There would be a lot of scope to add your own touches to some jobs, as well as others that would have to be followed exactly. Ideas are more than welcome too.

    It would best suit those that want some peace and tranquility or a chance to try your hand at a few new skills.

    This farm is 20km from the nearest town, in a hamlet that is high and isolated. Lifts can be given into the town when we are going.

    In the town of Elena there are shops and bars, swimming pools and museums, as well as a waterfall, a dam and eco trails, if you go into town during your down time.

    During the height of summer we have extreme heat (mid July to Mid September), so most work will be done very early 7.30am and/or after 5pm, on wet days, there will be barns to clear and a lot of splashing about.

    No alcohol or cigarettes will be provided and I ask that smoking is kept to designated area, purely due to the fire risk it poses on a farm.

    At the moment there is a lot of gardening and digging to be done. The digging is for making an under ground green house - Walipini

    Particularly interested in people that would be interested in staying longer than a few weeks due to the nature of the projects.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Some things that need making
    Walipini
    Solar Green House
    Earthbag houses
    Veg garden
    flower beds,
    Natural fencing,
    hard standings
    steps
    Vinegar Making
    Underground green house to make
    Celler to make

    Also,
    babysitting
    Animal care
    Land Maintenance
    Strimming
    Logging
    Reedbed Care
    Paddock management

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Next door to the main farm is a 1 acre holding where workaways would be staying. This is a newly renovated property with stunning views, 3 bedrooms, kitchen, wonderful bathroom. . It has all the basic amenities, including a shower and a wood fired boiler for the roll top bath. Kitchen and balcony.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I will be asking for references as I have a child to consider. It would probably suit couples or hardworking women, as I would not consider single men unless they come with extremely good references.

    Food will be provided and you will have your own facilities for cooking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5-6 hours per day

My geese on the front lawn.
Part of the farm land
Views from the guest house overlooking part of the farm
The Guest House



Host ref number: 395229187499