Natural building and landcaring in Rouvenac, France

  • France
  • Favourited 51 times
  • Last activity: 10/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi ! Glad to have you here. Let's first introduce ourself : Andjali (26) is an enthousiast sewer. She likes dancing and art in general. Remi (27) is a woodwork lover. He is woodturner and woodcarver. We both share the same values and we try according our lifestyle to it : ecology, tolearance, freedom. We've been traveling together and stayed at some Workaways which gave us the will to become host ourself someday. As we wanted to settle down we bought a land (half hectare) in a beautifull village named Rouvenac to start a project from the really beginning.

    That leads us to describe the project : on our land we are working on creating our small paradise. We started building our house, made from wood, strawbales and earth. Almost everything will be done by ourself so there's a lot of exciting construction help the volunteers can participate to. On the other hand everything about landscaping has to be created : gardening, planting trees, setting up fences and chilling areas.. We've got plenty of project and a variety of different things to do so nobody won't get bored by coming here.
    We want to make sure you're aware that it is construction site life, so not the most comfortable place on earth -although the view is amazing-, but we will make our best to make you feel home, to cook you good meals and to make your stay a pleasant experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We'd be happy to spend time with you and to show you around on our free time. We'll take you to a big market on Sunday. We both talk decent English.
    By coming there you'll get the opportunity to learn information about getting a project started from nothing and building your house by your own. You can also get some construction skills. And you will of course discover the life in french countryside.

  • Help

    Help

    Construction help
    : gardening, planting trees, setting up fences and chilling areas..
    We'd like you to work at least 25hours a week. We're flexible with the schedule, you can organise your week to get free time when you want to.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As the help is going on with the house we can only provide a tent to sleep in or if you have a camping car or something like that you can easily park on our land. We will share our solar shower and dry toilet with you. And of course we provide and cook food for each meal every day, that we share together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Now to describe our surrounding : we're located in a small village, between Carcassone and Perpignan. There are many outdoor activity to do : exploring the hills, take a walk into the forest, have a refreshing bath in the river (2 minutes by foot).. In the village there is a restaurant, and a market twice a week. On Sunday the nearest town has a big market with lot of local food and handicraft, we will drive you there. The beautiful medieval city of Carcassonne is less than 1hour away, and there are several Cathar's castles around.

    To come to our place you can use the train untill Limoux or the bus untill Espéraza and we will pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 394173428292

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Help needed at our alpine chalet in La Plagne, France
Help with kids and learn about artist development and music recording in Normandy, France