Help me with some gardening and outdoor tasks on the south side of Lochbroom, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The croft is situated in a stunning beautiful position with an open vista by the sea comprising of house, bothy, semi mature woodland. A large vegetable & herb garden and meadows on the south side of Lochbroom.

    My name is Chris now 70 years old. Over the last 40 years we have created all organic croft that supply's myself and visitors with fresh fruit, vegetables and herbs. At one time running a dried herb business (Highland Herbs). I survive well but do need help as I grow older in a hands on practical way. I have been a host for many years and I am used to welcoming people as volunteers from all over the world, young and old from all backgrounds. I especially seek those who enjoy the outdoors and have a happy disposition with a sense of adventure. Abundant wildlife prevails from Sea Eagles, Deer as well as Dolphins and the occasional Whale.
    Achmore is a difficult(could be considered remote) to access. 1 mile from the local off grid community of Scoraig. People who can make their own way are appreciated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Off grid organic living, Gardening skills and herbal knowledge, fishing

  • Help

    Help

    Besides gardening help, Innovative building, tree planting, firewood, fencing and help with cooking would be appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be a Toms Bothy. The Bothy is furnished, comfortable & cosy all year round, it has a fully equipped kitchen with all cooking utensils provided, a large double sink with hot & cold running water, a gas cooker, a multi–fuel stove that provides the hot water & a bath. The toilet is a compost toilet and housed outside. A small solar power system provides light & electricity. There is a full mobile/ broadband signal here as well. I will share garden produce /homemade bread etc and shared cooked evening meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Scoraig is an off grid peninsula accessible by ferry or footpath. Plenty of hillwalking and wildlife to see.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 389414939298