Help in the Home and Garden on the beautiful Saanich Peninsula (Victoria, BC), Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family of four (kids aged 11 and 15) living near Victoria, BC in Central Saanich. I am a Social Worker in a long term care facility. My husband is a Shipwright (building and repairing wooden boats). Our home often seems to have people staying from all corners of the world. We often host international high school students and have been 'host parents' for the past several years.

    Our home is situated in the middle of beautiful farm fields but it's a short walk to local shops and buses to downtown Victoria or Sidney (25-30mins downtown by bus). A few of us like board games and we have a large collection of games! We have lots of musical instruments in the house. It's a busy household, so we're not able to be tour guides, but we do like to share all that our area has to offer and will happily support our guests in making the most of their time on the Island.

    We have an average sized, no-frills, spare bedroom (with farm and ocean views). We could use some help with daily housework and help with the animals and the garden. Someone with landscaping experience would be appreciated; basically, there needs to be a willingness to dig in the dirt, haul some materials around and try to help us manage our outdoor space. We have animals: chickens, ducks, cats, rats, and a dog. It's not a farm, just a fairly big yard that needs some pulling together! Our animals are very friendly so this is a great place for someone looking for some good cat, dog, or chicken cuddles. ;)

    We are also looking for a house/animal sitter for various times throughout the summer as we try to get away camping! Ideally, we'd have folks stay for at least a couple of weeks at a time.

    Dates that we can host in 2020 are mainly from June to the end of August, but other times of the year may work too...feel free to ask!

    Our place best suits a single traveler, but we may consider a couple in the summer if both are willing to work in the yard and share the room.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Saanich Peninsula is one of the most beautiful places in the world and we love sharing our knowledge of the area and our home with fun, creative, and interesting travelers! A quick search of this area will show the myriad outdoor activities that the area has to offer. The Boulders Climbing Facility is nearby and we are on the Peninsula Rail Trail and near the Lochside Trail for cycling, running, horseback riding etc. Panorama Recreation Centre is not far away.

  • Help

    Help

    Our yard needs a bit of an overhaul, we have not had much time in the last couple of years to keep up! We are looking at some redesigning of the layout. Overgrown perennials need to be divided and moved, vegetable garden will need to be tended, weeded, maybe even planted depending on time of year. Tree and hedge pruning and changing up some hard-scaping may be attempted. We just want to get the yard organized and tidy. In the house, there may be some small projects too (painting mainly).

    Help with the daily housework would be greatly appreciated - dusting, vacuuming, organizing. Think of the things that a busy working mom hasn't had much time for lately! We're not necessarily looking for all of this in one person - these are just things that we would consider trading room and board for.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Learning some Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small-Medium room with closet, twin captain's bed, desk, and bookshelf. Room is on the ground floor and has views over the farm fields to the ocean. It's a very quiet, dead-end street. The workshop is attached to the house so there may be woodworking tools running during the day or early evening. We can discuss whether sharing meals and food works or not - we're open to either option. We eat quite healthy meals - vegetarian always available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have seven years of experience hosting international high school students. We've also hosted an Au Pair for a summer and an international house-sitter who chose to stay with us for a few months paying some rent and working locally. We're pretty flexible to terms; we have a room and are looking for a person that be a will be a good fit for our family for a cultural exchange. It's not a mellow house because we are in and out to kids' lessons, work, school, and the kids often have friends over. It is a family home, so we prefer a single person who doesn't want to have groups of people over, parties, etc. We can't be tour guides the whole time, but we're happy to set our guests up to find adventure. Sadly, we don't have time to do most of the adventuring these days ourselves until we're on holiday!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

View from the front yard in March...daffodils are coming up at the farm.
This guy is the boss around here.
Nugget. World's most friendly and annoying chicken.
Gardening helpers.
Young ducks - and some of the overgrown garden in the background.
The little sweetheart of the place. Everybody loves Alfie.
The boy and his rats.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 386384647655