Looking for help with our olive trees and harvesting in Marlborough, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 188 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a middle aged couple( in our later years) who love where we are but its quite hard to keep up with all the work. We have 410 olive trees and 180 hazelnut trees on 4.5 hectares. Jo is a potter when she's not in the garden or bottling oil and cooking. David loves his trees and would like to make furniture one day when there isn't so much maintenance work to do around the place. That will be the day!

    We love the extra virgin olive oil that we produce and also hazelnut and basil pesto, which we make for the Christchurch markets . We go down to Christchurch at the end of every month and attend 3 markets in that one weekend. We sell locally and from our farm door.

    During the summer months we have tour groups of anything from 4 to 25 for a tour of the grove and lunch or morning tea depending on the numbers - we hope to develop this more this coming summer. We grow our own vegetables and have lots of fruit trees, so harvesting and preserving is another job in the summer and autumn.

    We always need help but especially for the hazelnut gathering throughout March and the olive harvest through June and half of July.

    In return for the help we will give great home cooking and very comfortable bedrooms with a large shared bathroom, hot showers and good wifi connection.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn new skills such as using a chainsaw safely, driving tractors and quad bikes, learning about olive oil processing as we have our own press, and you can learn how to grow, harvest and preserve fruit and vegetables. we also have 15 chickens so you can learn to care for those.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work would be to do with keeping the place tidy - mowing with the ride-on mower, weeding, harvesting, simple pruning, driving the various farm vehicles and helping out with the tours eg; cleaning the house and helping out.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two rooms with a bathroom in the middle for you to share. The bedrooms are very comfortable with views of the mountains and Marlborough hills, one has twin beds and the other a Queen sized bed, all the beds have electric blankets on them. The bathroom has twin basins and a shower and toilet.
    The bedrooms are separate from the house but you will eat with us and can share our sitting room if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are just 1 hour south of Picton and 40 minutes south of Blenheim, we are 1 hour north of Kaikoura ( SH 1 is now open during the day only - closed between 8.30pm and 7am ) The Marlborough Sounds are an hour away and Nelson 2 hours. This makes us very central.

    We do ask people to work a full day and then they can have full days off depending on how long they are staying with us. During the harvesting of the olives though it is quite full on unless it rains, then we have days off, its imperative the olives are picked before they get too ripe or frosted.

    Mostly we are very relaxed and don't like to work people too hard, but we do expect people to offer help where it is obviously needed. Breakfast at 9am start work at 10, tea breaks, lunch at about 1.30 and a short siesta if its too hot to work, then start again about 3 until 5 or 6pm - sometimes David will probably work on into the evening in the summer. During the olive harvest we pick from 9 or 10am until 4pm, then David and I are usually finishing up the days press and cleaning up for the next day so come in at about 6.30 if we are lucky. The meal still has to be cooked so unless the people help with that, we might eat quite late.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 386167538288