Volunteer with the house and garden in central Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 1039 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    116  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1257

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the Italian countryside in a very traditional way, although we are not a traditional farm. In fact, I am a general practitioner, very often working away from home, and running a bed&breakfast at the house. This means that I need the help of someone guaranteeing continuity in the house, garden, feeding the chickens, geese, goats, ( no more goats :( ) donkeys etc. This also means that I have less time than I would like to be together... and I need someone who can work independently with little guidance.
    Actually, I am planning to stop working for the National Health System, which creates sickness and not Health, to dedicate me 100% at the reception of travellers in a very healthy way!
    i would love to receive good vegan cooker, so I can learn more ways to prepare nice meals with what we can find in the veg garden or the fields....

    We have two positions to fill: one longer term (at least one month) for assisting in taking care of the house and garden, and a shorter term one for odd jobs in the garden, vegetable patch, etc.

    We eat healthy food from our vegetable garden and make our own bread and jams. Now we are vegetarian, and on the way to becoming vegan. We use olive oil from our own trees - which is very precious for us!

    Our philosophy: environment respect, domestic economy, recycling any trash, and gratefulness for what we receive from Nature...
    I need some time and observation to create the connection with the volunteer, so I ask patience, goodwillness.
    :)
    It is very interesting to note how helpers never stay here with indifference: or they love it ( after a while, time to integrate the motivations) or they hate it and leave soon.(cf negative profile)

    From the volunteer we expect: - and at the end you will have a Master in Domestic Economy :) -
    Interest and will to learn.
    Flexibility to adapt to our lifestyle and desire to be integrated.
    The person must be able to work independently and on their own initiative. There are many projects and types of work but you will be working on your own a lot of the time.


    We have had wonderfully rich experiences of meeting young and older people coming from all kinds of cultures.
    In the case of more volunteers present in the farm we can alternate one full day of active presence with one full day free.
    The station is 7 km away (from here you can walk less than 1 km to a bus stop, hitchhike or cycle).

    Daily chores around the kitchen are expected of everyone, even guests, this goes without saying and is not really the 'work' expected in this Workaway. . We have a maid that comes every morning so you are not expected to do any serious cleaning, just simple tasks like preparing the kitchen for breakfast, keeping the woodpile stocked from already cut wood (winter), watering plants (summer) and clearing the table after meals. You also need to do 4 hours of work everyday on different projects around the property and hopefully creatively contribute to the progress of the home (this could be completing a specific outdoor project, there is plenty of mending and repair work or creative projects like constructing paths with tile pieces). This task could be any number of things, but importance is placed on leaving your mark on the home and contributing. Also, if you work for a full day, this can be in exchange for a full day to visit one of several attractions or towns nearby (Rome, Assisi, Orvieto, Spoleto, to name a few)

    Potential volunteers should keep in mind that this is not a free hostel! You have to be absolutely willing to adapt yourself to the way of life here - with its rules and habits - even if it is not what you are used to. Having a positive attitude is essential in this respect. Please watch this short film to get an idea of my values, as I am not willing to compromise them- look on google Annie Leonard, "story of stuff". You should ask yourself whether or not you find this agreeable before asking to come and live here. The importance of this experience is not solely the physical work in exchange for food and a bed, but rather a willingness to learn and build a relationship. Since I very often work away, I like to come back to a nice atmosphere where I can feel really at home! (At my own home). I have a great defect: I react rudely when I feel "invaded". You cannot expect from me to open myself immediately, it is not automatic, I need time. I am really happy for people to "feel at home" here, but I also want them to "feel the home" and really be part of it. Just to give an example, you can not enjoy a drink standing just in front of a plant dying of thirst and not do anything about it...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How to avoid to create trash.
    how to recycle everything.
    how to consider the most import resource: WATER.
    how to stop to use chemicals .
    How to feed your body with what the nature offers you...
    how to stop automatism created by advertising and brain washing...
    etc...

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the garden, pool maintenance in the hot season, feeding the animals (chickens, geese.....and no more goats, but donkeys , dog and cats...), looking after the vegetable garden (synergic permaculture), mending fences, chopping wood...

    In the spring the flower beds and the synergic vegetable garden need weeding, fruit trees and hedges need to be pruned.

    Beginning in April and through the summer, someone should spend about an hour in the vegetable garden each day, watering the plants and removing weeds, as well as cleaning and maintaining the pool.

    If you have a clean driving license for manual cars you are welcome to use the car too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Portuguese, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the main house during the winter, and when the main house is rented in the summer, we all stay in the cottage or in a tent if you need privacy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please ask for our phone number and confirm your arrival one week before and contact me also at the moment of your departure to arrange pick up at the station.
    We are 7km away from Orte train station, on line Rome (40 mins away) to Florence.
    Nearby, you can visit the Etruscan Pyramid, wild hot springs, authentic beautiful villages, such as Bomarzo, Vitorchiano, Bagnaia, or cities, such as Amelia, Orvieto, Montefiascone (on Bolsena Lake).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















































































Host ref number: 3861518884b9