Young creative couple needs help to eco-renovate our house in the woods and create an organic forest garden on our land. Brechfa Forest, Llanllawddog, Wales. United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    198

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Alicia and James, a young couple that have recently moved to Wales from Brighton. We live in a 200 year old traditional stone cottage surrounded by Brechfa forest. We are keen to setup an organic permaculture garden and a forest garden in the 2 acres of land we have, and make some nice habitats for nature . We are also renovating the house using eco and traditional methods and are hoping to build an eco hut in the land. James (33) is a tree surgeon and musician, Alicia (26) was an art student but is now doing a degree in child development. she works for a forest school, is a support worker, and runs childrens art and craft activities in the school holidays. We are both veggie ( and gluten free), and like: nature, traveling, yoga and meditation, music, walking in the mountains. We have a puppy called Bronwen, and 2 cats called Buddha and Theo. We don't smoke, and we only drink occasionally. We like board games and watching movies, playing music in the evenings. at the moment we are focusing on finishing the house so we can foster children. In the next few years we are hoping to get the house to a place where we can invite local schools for forest school sessions, art and music therapy, and do woodland skills sessions with local teens and adults. We are also hoping to transform the barn into a yoga/ music/ art studio.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This part of wales is really beautiful, there are loads of awesome walks and so much nature right next to the house, there are so many amazing birds you can see from our garden! Including Goshawks, buzzards, owls, woodpeckers, swallows, etc!

    If you need a bit of peace and quiet and time for self reflection this is the place for you. We also have a tonne of great books on buddhism and other stuff that you can borrow while your here too.

    Fun stuff nearby- botanical gardens, open mic nights, veggie cafes, beachs!, castles and stuff! In the woods behind our house there are loads of mountain bike tracks but yould need to rent a bike from somewhere or bring a mountain bike with you!

    The only thing to mention is if you need super nightlife and going out, this probably isn't the place for you, we are 20 mins drive from the nearest town, if you don't have a car theres not much you can walk or cycle too, (you might just about be able to cycle to the nearest pub in 1 hour, or walk to Brechfa village in 2 hours. The bus into town is a 30 minute walk away). But obviously you can come to town with us when we go, as and when!

    Because of the house being in the middle of nowhere, it may suit couples or groups of friends better than individuals, but this is a personal preference !

  • Help

    Help

    So the main things at the moment are sort out the land and house, as its been a bit neglected in the last 20 years! We are trying to do everything in as eco way as possible. Theres loads of other stuff we will be doing as well, so it depends where your interests and skills lie! As we are at the exciting start of this big project, we would love to hear everyones input on what would be nice to do for nature and the house.

    jobs could include: gardening, lime washing the house, strimming, chopping firewood, cutting back the Japanese knotweed, building/ designing an eco hut, painting the house, taking cement render off the house, growing food, setting up polytunnel, building shelves and cupboards, making outdoor furniture, etc

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House and caravan! Theres 2 double bed spare rooms in our house, or theres a double bed in our lovely caravan in the garden so you can have a bit more privacy (unless it is booked out). ask us in advance if you specifically want to stay in the caravan / or dont want to stay in the caravan

    Meals
    We will provide 3 meals a day including weekends, the cooking is done on a rota so its shared between all that are eating. If you prefer to cook for yourself thats ok too

    Please note- no cooking meat in the house or caravan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 383617212793