Experience a self-sustainable life in a former abandoned village in the Spanish low Pyrenees, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Katja. I am a dutch woman, age 52 and since 2009 I live in a former abandoned village in the Spanish low pyrenees. Now the village inhabits more ore less 10 people. Every house-hold has its own solar and rainwater-collecting system.
    The origin of the villag probably goes back a 1000 years, same as the castle wich you can see from the village.
    For shopping, bar and public transport you have to go to Graus wich is 14 km away and that takes 20 min. by car.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can experience an intent of off-grid living, eco-construction and working with goats.
    The area is nice for walks, the high pyrenees are near with a lot of national parks.
    I am hoping for some inspiring contacts for both of us

  • Help

    Help

    I have 4 milkgoats some chicken and cats. So there is work like cleaning the stable, maintainence of the stable, walking the goats, milking and processing the milk to yogur or cheese.
    There is work in the vegetable garden and a saffron field. I am also planing on growing some things the goats can eat. There is almost 1 ha of land on wich I could use help and ideas.
    I bought 3 barns wich I am renovating with the help of family and friends, I try to do that in a more ore less ecological way, recicling materials and using natural materials like clay and straw. there is still some constuction to do and maintainance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a little apartment with a double bed, a little kitchen with a gasstove for cooking and a woodstove to heat in winter. You will have your privacy, we can eat together every now and then and other days I can provide food so you can cook your own meal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you have pets, please communicate it with me so we can talk about the possibilities.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 381789352564