Experience community living and a cultural lifestyle in Menemen, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Mehmet, living in the farm Akçabulut on the Dumanlıdağ mountain in Menemen, İzmir since 2 months and I'm a memeber of a new social formation. We are group of people who live in and around the village which is abandoned. We are neighbours since almost 6 years and 1 month ago we bought this farm which is in the center of our own places to built a new form of community. The farm was situated since 9 years but not in a good situation. We have a dream of forming this place as an example of agroecology practice and a co-working place for whom wishing to work and learn on that subject. We also newly work on that subject.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Firstly this place has no owner and not working for earning money for an individual person, we wish to be a community, having a good communication and do something for common. This area comprise a variety of plants, birds and etc. and we wish to work together on flora and bird whatching. You will feel the wilderness.
    We are very close to a village called Turgutlar where people still live in a traditional way, such as, they have their small gardens, animals like cows, sheep, goat, chickens, bees and etc. We have contacts with these people. In our place we are trying to form a community from different cultures with the neighbours around. We are doing some jobs together, help each other, getting together and have some discussions about life, being community, and etc. In our place we are trying to have a relation with soil -land- in an ecological and sustainable way, in a short term agroecological way. About these subjects we are very excited to share ideas, doing thıngs together.

  • Help

    Help

    In our village animals (mostly cows) are free in the forest and around our land and unfortunately they pass our place and eat the saplings. We have some fences but not in a good situation, so first of all we have to do some work on fences. Besides this, to make a preparation for the fall (planting) in the field we need some terracing. The structures in the field needs a bit of maintanance, it would be also nice to do this stuff together.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have some places for accomadation spreaded the area but basically there is a house which have 2 rooms, a kitchen and a bathroom. For bath we heat the water with the help of stove.
    There are some rooms made of adobe, straw, wood etc. They need a little bit maintanance. Also the place is suitable for camping. Also there is a prefabric structure, which is formed as a room.
    There is no electricity in the land, we use solar energy and we use water from the spring water not a running city water. Because of that we use them carefully.

    We provide ingredients and intent to cook together but because our place is far away from the city center, it is not easy to supply food, so workawayers should consider this situation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 25km far from county town and to reach the place there is a shared taxi (we say dolmuş) but not a public transportation like bus. There is a waterfall called Su Uçuran Şelalesi (Aliağa Şelalesi) and a valley called İbrim near the farm. The farm is into the forest with oak, pine, wild plum and etc. trees.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a dog called Aykız, mean Moongirl, a cat called Balkız which mean Honeygirl and chickens around. If your pet has a good relation with these animals you are wellcome with your pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 378129624583