Experience small town life in beautiful Orvieto, Italy in exchange for household help



Favourited 220 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Ciao! We are Linda and Steve, an American couple who own a hostel in Rome and live in the historic center of Orvieto - a lovely, small medieval hill town located just 1 to 1.5 hour north of Rome. We have 3 teenage daughters (two of our daughters who will not be around during your stay) and a small dog. We are NOT looking for help at our hostel in Rome, but for household help at our home in Orvieto. Please note that this is a small town - quiet and slow-paced. It is not a big city so if you are looking for a place with lots to do and a vibrant nightlife then this would not be the exchange for you. Please read below for more information about the exchange.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Orvieto is a small town and you'll be able to meet and interact with people around the town. You'll have an opportunity to experience life here whether it's going to the twice-weekly outdoor market or simply going to the local coffee bar and people watching. There is a wonderful hike around the town if you want some time out in nature. Orvieto is a beautiful pedestrian town and is very relaxed.

  • Help


    We are a family of 5 and my husband and I spend most of our time working at our business in Rome. Since we spend a lot of time in Rome, we need help keeping our house clean and in order and someone who can also do some food shopping and food preparation. If you do not like cleaning and if you do not know how to cook, then this would not be the exchange for you. We have three teenage daughters, however, two will be away so only one daughter will be home during your stay. There is no childcare or dog care involved. We need help with basic household chores and cooking so nothing particularly complicated or difficult.

    Everything is just outside our doors, the small local supermarket is literally just a few steps from our front door, so we may ask you to do some daily shopping for which some basic Italian would be helpful but is not necessary (we speak English at home).

    We do have a small dog, but she does her business on a pad on our balcony so we may ask you to let her out during the day, but walking her is not a requirement. The daughter who is remaining at home is 13 years old and so there is no babysitting but you may be asked to prepare meals for her and just be an adult presence at home if my husband and I are getting back late or have to stay overnight in Rome which does not happen very often.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation


    You'll have your own room and your own bathroom located just outside the room. Our home has a kitchen and wi-fi. We are vegetarians so, we're sorry, but we ask that no meat or fish be stored or cooked in our house during your stay. There are only certain times of the week when we need help getting meals prepared and made and we'll let you know when that is. For the most part, either my husband or I prepare the meals and we eat together when we are all home and of course we hope you will join us!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With time off, you have the rest of Italy at your disposal. Orvieto is well-connected by train to other parts of Italy and is only 1-1.5 hours to Rome and 2 hours to Florence.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Host ref number: 376859473665