1 / 5

Help us create a four acre sanctuary in Morgan Hill, California, USA



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We have 4 acres by a creek that I need help turning into a sanctuary. We have a Koi Pond, trees, and wildlife including bobcats, deer, fox, birds, and a ton of beauty.

    Currently we are need of help with two projects:

    1) Building the structure and layout of our large garden. We need help with garden plans, building the perimeter of the garden, and protecting the garden from future critters.

    2) We have a bathroom that needs remodeling.

    We're looking forward to meeting you and sharing meals and stories and tons of extra space to relax if you need alone time. There's a beautiful short drive to Aptos and Santa Cruz where you can enjoy putting your feet in the sand at the Pacific Ocean.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy a slow-paced environment where we're learning to live closer to the land.

    Rest under the trees and read a book from my library. Feed the koi. Do some art, use some power tools, work on a puzzle, play a game, listen to music, cook in the kitchen.

    Collectors would be intrigued - Antique collecting, farm equipment that we need to learn how to use, and yard art galore.

    Very happy to share travel stories and life adventures.

  • Help


    We have many various projects and currently need help with building our garden perimeter, laying out a plan, and getting ready for planing. We would love your traditional and/or eco-building skills if you are able to teach us and other workawayers. We also would like to prepare a greenhouse for next year using vintage doors and windows as the frame. Let's bring our artistic ideas together.

    We work at home during the week, so it's important to us that you're willing to have your days be on the weekend, at least on Saturday's.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I’m interested in learning to speak Spanish.

  • Accommodation


    We have a couple options depending on how many people are here. We offer private accommodations in a self-contained studio, a small private sleeping room, a large tent, or space for your RV to camp in.

    I will provide all the meals if you would be so kind to do the cooking, prep and cleanup as part of your hours for the days that I'm working with clients.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're on 4 acres just 2 miles from town, so we're isolated, while being super close to the center of town.
    You'll be able to get to the ocean, Monterey or San Francisco for day trips.

    Because I work during the week, weekend days may be needed. We can discuss mutual needs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I’m on 4 acres and we can find a nice spot for you to be comfortable and I also have a fully contained studio.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week may include weekend days as agreed.

Host ref number: 376191577162

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Help in our gardens with permaculture projects in Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Help with gardening and hydroponics at our forest property in Olympia, Washington, USA