Take care of the children and share with them discovering our way of life in Saint-Brieuc, France

Country

France

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    We are a family with 2 children : an 13 year old girl and a 4 year old boy. We will be very pleased to welcome you and love the idea that our children are living alongside young people from other cultures and countries. We live in Brittany, in Saint-Brieuc which is a city in the north of the region at the edge of the sea. We live in a house with garden, in a district close to the city center. It is easy to walk, bike (bike loan possible) or bus. Saint-Brieuc is a medium-sized town with a library, cinemas, auditoriums / concerts, swimming pool, park and stadium athletics. With us, you will have a bedroom with sink and can have access to a shower upstairs. If you are a musician you can use our piano. Apart from one week each school holiday where we take the opportunity to escape and travel, we are present the rest of the time. We work in the cultural sector, and have very regular daytime work schedules.
    Lunch-time and diner-time are important moments for us and this is a daily "time to share". We cook fresh vegetables and organic food (and sometimes we are very proud to eat home-made vegetables :D ).

    If you want to stay with us a little while and in fact learn french, please try to write your messages in french asking us to answer in english if needed/prefered.

    Bonjour,
    Nous sommes une famille avec 2 enfants : une fille de 13 ans et un garçon de 4 ans. Nous aurons grand plaisir à vous accueillir et aimons l'idée que nos enfants côtoient des jeunes gens d'autres cultures et pays. Nous habitons en Bretagne, à Saint-Brieuc qui est une ville au nord de la région au bord de la mer. Nous vivons dans une maison avec jardin, dans un quartier proche du centre ville. Il est facile d'y aller à pied, à vélo (prêt de vélo possible) ou en bus. Saint-Brieuc est une vile moyenne disposant d'une bibliothèque, de cinémas, salles de spectacle/concerts, piscine, parc et stadium d'athlétisme. Chez nous, vous disposerez d'une chambre avec lavabo et pourrez avoir accès à une douche à l'étage. Si vous êtes musicien vous pourrez utiliser notre piano ! Hormis une semaine à chaque vacance scolaire où nous en profitons pour nous échapper et voyager, nous sommes présents le reste du temps. Nous travaillons dans le milieu culturel, et avons des horaires de travail en journée très réguliers.
    Le temps du repas est très important pour nous et nous apprécierons de le partager au quotidien. Nous cuisinons simplement et bio.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    BD, Livres, films, musique : vous trouverez chez nous de quoi vous nourrir de culture...

    Comics, books, movies, music : you will find here something to feed you with culture ... and local tips off course.
    As we work in culture and heritage, we can give a lot of tips to discover our city and nearby.
    We have 3 lovely hens, a little vegetable garden and principes of permaculture inspire us.
    Depending the weather, you can discover nautical activities ;) we also know where you can hike, ride, run...
    To conclude, we think that the every-days things are the best way to share culture. And we probably don't have time to talk during hours every evenings (we need *help* and not someone to change the world ;) ), but we are most of the time available to share some advices or to give some tips.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone to keep children during the summer (3 days per week) when we work, and offer them summer'activities.
    The work times are very clear and imperative because we are working (8h45-12h00 et 13h30-17h45).
    Week-end are free but we like sharing activities when we plan something.
    We will appreciate if you already had professionnal experiences with children.
    We are looking for a real ADULT, independent, responsible and capable of initiatives. We absolutely have to be sure that this is safe for our children.
    if possible, we prefer someone staying more than 3 weeks.
    If you speak at least some French it will be better since the children don't speak fluently any other language.

    Nous avons besoin de quelqu'un pour la garde des enfants au mois de juillet pendant que nous travaillons, avec un programme d'activités à réfléchir ensemble.
    Les temps de garde sont clairement définis car ils correspondent à nos jours de travail (8h45-12h00 et 13h30-17h45).
    Les week-end sont libres, mais si nous programmons quelque chose, nous avons plaisir à le partager.
    Une expérience professionnelle en lien avec les enfants serait un réel plus.
    Nous cherchons une personne adulte, autonome, responsable et sachant prendre des inititiatives notamment en ce qui concerne la vie collective.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House with garden. Bike available. Own bedroom. Off course free Internet.
    We try to eat less and less meat (something like flexitarian), but for sure, every food is organic by us.

    Maison avec jardin. Prêt de vélo possible. Chambre personnelle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We leave in the heart of the city, so everything is possible with a great autonomy, with bike, bus even train.
    There is a library, 2 swimming-pool (unfortunately closed due to the covid at this time), 2 cinemas, concerts every week-end, beaches just nearby, a lot of restaurants...
    We also know alternative places that deal with lowering our environmental impact...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours with 3 days off


Host ref number: 374745369936