Help to create an eco-community forest-garden one hour from Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Favourited 98 times
  • Last activity: 19 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Our project is a small eco-farm with an emerging community forest-garden, a few animals and a small conventional forest connected with a tiny Bed & Breakfast facility. The farm is maintained using permaculture principles. I run the farm and the B&B on my own but enjoy the help of many friends, who come to stay from time to time. Our garden is also host to an organisation that is etablishing a multi functional and multi accessible community garden. Our garden also arranges a number of events throughout the year- including LOW-Fi concerts, Garden Festivals and SkyByNight events.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You have the opportunity to learn how to establish a community forest-garden, arrange small events and get to know the danish culture from the inside.
    Your host is a member of the board of the Permaculture Denmark association, so there are plenty of opportunities to connect with other permaculture sites and other workawayers in the area. We have a particularly close relationship with our close neighbours on the same road and with Hjortgaarden in the town of Ugerloese, 25 km away. This farmproduces eco flowers and is also a hub for eco artists.

  • Help


    There are lots of opportunities to help me and to learn from staying at the farm:
    -fundraising for the community forest-garden and other events
    -tree- and bush planting,
    -plant nursery- and animal care,
    -maintenance of water recycling systems,
    -fence building,
    -establishment of permanent vegetable beds and raised beds
    -arranging community activities inclusive Garden Festivals, LOWFi concerts, SkyByNight events and short micro-courses in permaculture, yoga and cooking.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have lived in England for many years, so I can help you practising your spoken and written english.

  • Accommodation


    I can offer an opportunity for two people sharing a bedroom and living space in a house with shared kitchen and bathroom. The room is situatetd in the guesthouse and therefore the shared kitchen and bathroom will have to be kept to a high standard for the paying guests. There is also an opportunity to camp in the the forest. You can use the bicycles on the farm. You are responsible for your own food, but as the garden produces goods, we will of course share that food. There is a no smoke policy in the house, so if you smoke its only possible outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local town of Svebølle is about 3 km away where there is a train station linking to Copenhagen (one hour) and Kalundborg (10 minutes). Over the past three years I have hosted volunteers from Denmark. I am very curious about creating this oppportunity for young people from around the world. It would give me great pleasure to get to know more friends in the world. I live simply and quietly but play the trumpet in a local big band, which means that loud music may occure :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a space for you to park if you come in your own car.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 373396499185

Feedback (1)


Help our little family around the house and garden near Aarhus, Denmark
Experience incredible nature in the beautiful town of Gudhjem, Denmark