Chopping wood and landscaping in Canadian family home in scenic western Tokyo, Japan

Country

Japan

new host  

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Canadian family of five living in Ome (western Tokyo). We are missionaries running a Christian retreat house beside a beautiful river in the mountains.

    Before having kids we traveled extensively around the world and have benefited greatly from interacting with people from different cultures and countries.

    Our retreat house has a double function of being a community space for local people to connect as well as a place of rest for people from the city.
    We love people from every religion however if you are offended by the message of Jesus this probably is not the right place for you.

    We have three young children. Most people find them a joy to be around but if you don't like kids this probably is not the right place for you.

    We love people but sometimes we need space just to be our family.

    We CANNOT host anyone without travel insurance. Medical care in Japan is NOT free.

    Please note that it is absolutely NO SMOKING at our place, including the garden and the vicinity.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience the countryside of Tokyo. People are friendly and the nature is beautiful.

    You can practice English or Japanese. Experience a fusion culture of Canada and Japan.

  • Help

    Help

    The primary tasks are chopping fire wood, landscaping. and minor construction. Experience in at least one of these areas is a must.

    Alternatively, if you are experienced with recording music and video editing we are looking for help creating a series of youtube music videos.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The primary accommodation is your own room with two single beds, own shower, toilet and sink. This is on a separate floor from our family bedrooms.

    On the rare occasion, the guest suite will not be available in which case you will have your own room but share our shower and toilet.

    You can join us for meals or use our kitchen and buy and prepare your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can swim in and enjoy campfires along the river, as well as multiple mountain hikes in the area.

    Visiting shrines and temples nearby including the famous but less touristy Mitake Shrine. The Okutama Lake is about 30 minutes away by a train ride. And of course, you can visit the center of Tokyo once in a while if you miss the crowd and vibrant atmosphere there anytime, though it does cost about 1000 yen one way for the JR train ride.

    We live about 15 min. walk from the nearest train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 371377594185