1 / 5

Help, ideas and creativity always welcome :) Tortosa, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 15 times
  • Last activity: 9 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi thanks for checking out our profile.
    This is what you are letting yourselves in for-
    Since the Zombie apocolipse my now grown up children and thier parteners ( late twenties) have moved back to the countryside to keep me company, they work from home and have very soft hands and not a lot of time for outdoor jobs, but they are good for a laugh, although the best entertainment is my 6 year old granddaughter who is also here.
    Its a big lively house and garden that requires time, maintinance and smiley faces. :)
    Dogs, cats and a pig are also part of the family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live just 5 kilometers from the Medieval City of Tortosa on the river Ebro which has a very colourful history from the knights templar to the battle of the Ebre in the civil war, sorrounded by the Els Ports natural park which great for wild life and outdoor activities, such as cycling, rock climbing, natural swimming etc
    3 people in the house are fluent spanish and catalan speakers if you'd like to practice, the rest of us are mainly english speaking, and need to learn more.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Tending the land, collecting carobs and gardening seems to take up most of the work time here, its kept fairly simple, lots of succulents and cacti we also have a natural swimmingpool which is usually fantastic and attracts a lot of wildlife, at the moment is in need of some repair.
    Basic DIY skills are always apprectiated but not always nessarcary, for repairing porches or fencing.
    Any painters out there? I have an old lorry with a large mural that could do with some attention, also painting window frames. :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    accomodation is a room in my house- if I have space-
    If I don't have space I have a converted lorry that is usually rented on bnb which is a cozy option.
    Both places have wifi.
    If accomodation is in the house we all eat together, if helpers are staying in the truck they might enjoy cooking for themselves in this space as its fully equipped, it will be a choice.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Tortosa is on a main train and bus routes, also close to the motorway so is very well conected for arriving, leaving and getting out and about.
    We are in the mountains but just 30 minuites from the beaches, its a nice combination. There is also the Via Verde close by- which is a disused railway line that has been turned into a cycle path, its goes through many places of interest and attracts a lot of fitness and nature lovers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have work from homers here. the internet is fine :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I own a very small camping area, with electricity hook up, showers and outside kitchen, I can reserve a space if anyone would like to bring thier own accomodation, Sadly we do not take pets, you can see it on instagram cactuslodgecamping

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 369999453984