Visit Australia's own Snowy Mountains! A uniquely Australian experience

Country

Australia

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/06/2017

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 46 acre property in the bushlands of the Australian Snowy Mountains. We are approximately 1 hour to Mount Selwyn, 2 hours to Perisher Valley, and 2.25 hours to Thredbo. We are close to Cooma, Jindabyne and to Mount Kosciusko National Park.

    We have two self contained Pyramids and a large house where we welcome guests who come to stay on our beautiful property. We have regular visits from kangaroos, wombats, wallabies and echidnas! Fishermen can trout fish the Murrumbidgee River which borders our property. We usually have guests every month of the year.

    The work would mostly be centered around the day-to-day running of our property. We have a large, completely organic veggie garden which is just getting established, general gardening, as well as helping with our chickens and ducks or giving us a hand around the house. We need someone to chop firewood and during the Winter months, someone to assist with preparing rooms/cabins in between guests.

    For the most part, it's all outdoor type work. Our busiest season around the house is Spring and Summer for the outdoor maintenance. We need to restock wood supplies, preserve fruit, get the garden under control, and get everything ready for the Winter months. Sometimes, there might be big projects where we all work together, but mostly you'll be left to your own devices so we need people who are self-starters, sensible and can get things done.

    A big advantage would be if you have experience with chainsaws, cutting wood, collecting kindling, know how to operate a ride-on mower, can do some weed spraying (on foot, over many acres).

    We're looking for people who are sensible, friendly, family/group orientated, who like to have a laugh and who will work to contribute something toward the property. We're always open to new ideas, and problem solving is a big plus!

    You'll need your own vehicle to get to us. There is NO public transport in this area.

    Sometimes there are 4 of us, but sometimes it's just the two owners of the property, my grandparents.

    If you have any medical conditions or rely on medication, please note we are around 60k's from a doctor or hospital.

    Please note, my grandfather has dementia. He has a carer (you do not need to provide care), but if you cannot understand how to be around someone with dementia, please reconsider writing to us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer an insight into Australian rural living. We are located about 65 kilometres to the nearest large town, although there is a small town about 15 k's away from us with a pub, bakery, Australia Post, General Store. etc.

  • Help

    Help

    The work around our property would mostly be helping garden, maintenance of the property, depending on the season, maybe collecting fruit from the orchard and helping preserve it, mowing lawns, vegetable gardening.

    If you are a skilled trades-person, that would be wonderful, to get some projects underway. We have lots of room for new ideas and look forward to meeting you!

    We need someone to cut wood for the fireplace, make sure it is stocked up, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One of the bedrooms in the big house or in the "Apartment" a self-contained unit near the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of places to go on excursions on your day/s off, we are approximately 1 hour to Mount Selwyn, 2 hours to Perisher Valley, and 2.25 hours to Thredbo. We are close to Cooma, Jindabyne and to Mount Kosciusko National Park, which has thermal hot springs, as well as the city of Canberra which is relatively close. You will need your own transport to visit these places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 367936513816