Family sustainability project in Marco de Canaveses, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 48 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are 2 families with 3 small children, with a vision of creating a sustainable space, to live, to host events and workshops in the furure. Within all that we do we gather and share information regarding regenerative farming, permaculture, self development, natural building and renewable energy systems. We are in the stage of development, living on a farm with blueberry plantation, small forest, 2 houses, one in need of deeper renovation although offers a few bedrooms for the stayers who prefer to stay inside.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anyone interested in permaculture, farming, reforestation, home cooking, conserving and developing knowledge alongside others who are learning what it means to be sustainable. We speak 3 languages day to day, including English, French and portuguese and spanish is also a possbility.

  • Help

    Help

    This year we are focusing on the developmnt of a lifelong project. Alot of what we do will involve; farming tasks, preparation of some spaces for hosting events in the future, daily tasks at home; cleaning, cooking, taking the goat for a walk in the forest, art projects,

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have space for camping, there are some tents available, but its preferable to bring your own. There are also 2 rooms, with single or double beds available. This we can discuss based on your preferences. There are only rooms available in the house for now. There is a dry toilet and an outside shower less than 50 meters from the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our land is blessed with a diverse terrain including blueberrie fields and a forest. There is a river with a small beach in the next village. There are tourist attractions close by, 'torre das navoes' (the tower of the fog) and 'serra da aboboreira' (pumpkin hill). There are all the amenities within walking distance, hairdresser, butcher, baker, minimarket, cash machine, cafe. The train station is only a few minutes drive, we are happy to collect any volunteers. there is also a bus into town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 366214199215