Join our family and help with our two horses in the beautiful countryside of Shropshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 1240 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    403

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I have 2 grown up boys. One works in London and the other lives nearby and works in forestry. We have 3 dogs, 2 horses, chickens, ducks and a cat - life here is always busy, and we have a lot of fun too.

    I run a 5*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ bed and breakfast in lovely English countryside near the pretty English town of Ludlow, close to the border with Wales.

    The help we need is NOT in the B and B - it is to help with the horses and also looking after the other animals and with some projects in the family garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have hosted workawayers for more than 7 years now and I think that they have all enjoyed their stay and gone away with a good experience. I was an English teacher before so I can always help with your language skills.
    We enjoy music and theatre and film. I also try to keep fit and I do pilates although I'm getting older now! and of course I ride the horses. We have a small, basic gym in the cellar which workawayers are welcome to use. We all eat together in the evenings - if you enjoy cooking then we're delighted if you want to help, but it's not necessary. My husband and sons love watching football - particularly Liverpool. They also enjoy other sports. My son plays for a local team and previous workawayers have sometimes joined in with that - and the pub afterwards.
    There is lovely walking in this area and many good opportunities to discover to learn about the countryside and history in this beautiful part of England.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a large garden which needs a lot of looking after and the horses are very time consuming as well - workawayers have nothing to do with the business and are NOT asked to so any work with the B and B. I have other local staff who come into help me with that when necessary.
    We only ask particularly for help looking after and helping with my personal horses, therefore it's necessary for you to have experience of horses and a good riding ability.

    Also sometimes in the family garden there are projects to help with in the summer - again this is not about the BnB as this is our first and foremost our family home and the BnB is not our main form of income...'
    It is possible for us insure you for the car if you stay for 2 months or more and if that is the case then we often ask workawayers to do the shopping for us.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either in the house or from May onwards accommodation may be a comfortable caravan in the garden. You will be sharing meals with us - it always helps if you can cook!
    You will have the use of a car if you are staying for more than 2 months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a train station in Ludlow which we can give you lifts to. Also we can insure you for a car if you have a clean driving licence and are going to stay for 2 months or more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    potentially - will need to discuss.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day with 2 days a week free.Some flexibility needed - longer hours on some days with time off in lieu.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 363742363887