Cultural exchange and help with a fishing project on Mfangano Island, Lake Victoria, Kenya

Country

Kenya

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Irene Kizia, 23 years old female living in Africa,Kenya,Mfangano Island.I am a student at Maseno University taking my degree programme on History studies and Kiswahili. Both my parents are alive and staying at our Rural home where they help orphans and the vulnerable in the community.I love hiking ,watching and reading wide on different historical books and documentaries.I love nature and the beuty it offers.i love singing and currently learning how to play a guitar.

    As a history student,i would like to learn new cultural practices and learn various languages across the world ,hence prompting me to be a host of various workaway tourists and also teach them English and Kiswahili as our main languages in Kenya.

    The main economic activity in Mfangano Island is fishing, i would gladly welcome the workawayers to also come and enjoy our fishing techniques.

    My place has got serene environment to be admired.It has got playing grounds for good exercise.The locals are friendly and very welcoming to visitors. Mfangano Island is located at Lake VICTORIA, Africa's largest fresh water lake.And offers very affordable means of living to both the locals and visitors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will enjoy the rich cultural heritage of the Abasuba and Luo communities of Kenya,by visiting archaeological sites,museums attending culturally organized events and also participate in the cultural exhibitions.

    The travelers can also get a view of wild animals in the nearby Maasai Mara National Park.

  • Help

    Help

    Apart from learning new cultural practices and languages,i have passion in fishing and would like the visitors help me to increase the scale of my fishing fishing, by setting up fish cages to expand on our fishing experiences. I ventured into fishing so that i could get revenue to fulfill my passion of caring for the elderly. The money generated from fishing goes directly to helping the elderly to have access to healthcare, provide clothing and food, provide shelter and organize outdoor activities for the elderly.

    The fishing methods commonly used in the island offers very minimal catch, but the use of fish cages inside the lake, forms part of fish farming and contributes to a large catch without interfering with the breeding of the fish population.

    it is my desire to get Workawayers who also have passion in helping the elderly to help me establish at least 3 fish cages to allow for a large revenue collection and further establishing a home based care for the elderly around the Island of Mfangano.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,Kiswahili and Dholuo

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Within the Island the visitors will be staying in our family guest house which can accommodate utpto 6 visitors.The guest house is a self contained room ,fully furnished and equipped with fully functional kitchen

    I will provide food for Workawayers except for special diets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    during our free time, together with the helpers can go hiking in the mountains of the Island,relax in the warm beaches of Takawiri with white sands,visit caves and archeological sites.
    From the main Land to the Island the helpers will use FERRY to cross over and once within the island,the main mode of transportation is by road using motorcycles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 359316229185