Help needed with gardening, internet marketing, and book editing - SW England.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Mike 70, John 81, Peter 63 and Porage (the cat) 12, have been here for five years. The house is an old English farmhouse with nice neighbours and buses to local towns, train direct to London. We go to the gym at least three times a week, and Mike and Peter like walking and running.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have run language schools, so your English will get better. We go to the gym at least three times a week, and Mike and Peter like walking and running.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone to illustrate and edit the books we're writing, and to help with their e-marketing – also to help redesign the garden, cut the grass, prune trees, make a water feature, and dig. John is interested in interior decoration - stencilling and colour washing etc.
    Some of the gardening/construction is heavy work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is a 17th century stone and beams cottage with four bedrooms and two bathrooms on the edge of a village. It’s 4 minutes walk from pubs and shops and bus services to nearby towns.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on the main line to London. The local gym has a good swimming pool. The walking scenery is excellent - Mike likes walking and running, and Peter goes swimming several times a week. We do not provide a computer for you to use, but we use WIFI all the time. The village library has computers for internet access free anyway.

    You will have your own room. We don't have formal work schedules. We expect you to muck in and be part of the family and help us with day-to-day activities, but we're flexible. In return we expect to feed you and take you around to see the countryside, castles, cathedrals etc. and meet other Brits. (I should point out that we do NOT cater for non-carnivores or anyone who has particular dietary needs - tell us if there's anything you don't eat.) We have good WIFI and British TV, and we live comfortably.
    We have hosted more than 30 other helpers here, in France and in Spain

    Here are some reviews:-
    Helper: Oisin O Coigligh
    From: Ireland Date: October 2, 2014
    Well I don't know where to begin. Mike and John were two of the nicest people I have ever met. I had been 6 months away from home, but I never felt homesick once with them.
    The work was very doable. Any gardening was very straightforward and while the majority of my work was helping to proof-read Mike's book I found it to be really compelling and charming work. Some of the highlights of my stay were trying Octopus for the first time and learning to play Bridge. Although I must give special mention to Mike's jokes and John's cooking which I wont soon forget.
    Best of luck guys and thanks for everything.
    Add Reply / Comment
    Helper: Michael Elliott
    From: United States Date: July 24, 2014
    I stayed with Mike and John for a little over 2 weeks and I loved it. The work was reasonable. Mike won’t ask you to do anything he’s not willing to do alongside of you. The food, as other has said, is fantastic. Mike is a pretty good barber as well and can cut your hair if you sweet talk him. Their friends are Workaway hosts as well, and it was great to have company over for dinners and such. My time here was always happily busy be it work or play. Thanks for the wonderful stay, Mike and John.
    Add Reply / Comment
    Helper: Julyan and Chew
    From: United Kingdom Date: April 3, 2014
    Right, I'll start with my criticisms.... It may take me a few months to burn off the extra weight I've gained from the plentiful and delicious food we received at Mike and John's - other than that what can I say?
    They make you part of the family, the food company and experience are all top notch, they share everything they can with their guests, and really make the experience something to remember. My advice to any helpers is to jump at the chance to stay with these two wonderful hosts.
    Thank you so much,
    Julyan & Chew XxX
    Add Reply / Comment
    Helper: Eliot Bianco Profile: click here
    From: United Kingdom Date: September 1, 2013
    Mike and John, it’s really not possible to think of a criticism of them. They are wonderful hosts who will offer you great food and drink and be excellent company. If you play cards or dominoes you’ll have fun, if you don’t you will learn and have fun.
    Mike really enjoys taking helpers out and is a top notch tour guide. This was a great way of getting to see the area.
    As far as the work was concerned it was interesting and varied and more than fair.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    It varies - we work the hours that the job needs. But we're very flexible, the work won't kill any of us, and you'll get taken out often.

Host ref number: 358923487773