Help our family with some home DIY projects in the town of Ourres, south of the Hautes-Alpes, France

Country

France

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Julien and with my partner, Léa, we have a son, Nolwen, who is 2 years old.
    We live in a yurt, in a hamlet. This place of life is also my place of work. The hamlet is a place of life that we share with 3 other families and where we have agricultural activities on the one hand, and hospitality on the other. We are located at an altitude of 1000m, at the end of a small mountain road, in the town of Ourres, south of the Hautes-Alpes, bordering the Drôme and the Alpes de Haute Provence. We live in the middle of a wild and unspoiled nature.
    I started there, the construction of my house in 2005, but well occupied by my family life and my professional activity, the site progressed slowly. The building is out of water and I want to be out of the air before this winter.

    Je m'appelle Julien et avec ma compagne, Léa, nous avons un fils, Nolwen, qui a 2 ans.
    Nous vivons dans une yourte, dans un hameau appelé. Ce lieu de vie est aussi mon lieu de travail. Le hameau est un lieu de vie que nous partageons avec 3 autres familles et où nous avons des activités agricoles d'une part, et l'accueil d'autre part. Nous sommes situés à 1000m d'altitude, au bout d'une petite route de montagne, sur la commune d'Ourres, au sud des Hautes-Alpes, limitrophe de la Drôme et des Alpes de Haute Provence. Nous vivons au milieu d'une nature sauvage et préservée.
    J'y ai commencé, la construction de ma maison en 2005, mais bien occupé par ma vie de famille et mon activité professionnelle, le chantier avançait lentement. Le bâtiment est hors d'eau et je veux être hors d'air avant cet hiver.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a collective, an adventure that is above all human. Our way of life is as much about nature as it is about people. We consume local and organic. Our town and the surrounding valley are a rural environment, where there are many dynamic and alternative initiatives.
    We can share our way of life with travelers, in harmony with our natural environment and within a municipality experimenting with various alternatives.
    More personally, I can share my culinary knowledge and my knowledge of old and ecological buildings, my passion for computer programming ...
    My partner is passionate about plants and has an activity of gathering and transforming wild plants.

    Nous vivons au sein d’un collectif, une aventure qui se veut avant tout humaine. Notre mode de vie est tout autant tourné vers la nature que vers l’humain. Nous consommons local et bio. Notre commune et la vallée environnante, sont un milieu rural, où on y trouve de nombreuses initiatives dynamiques et alternatives.
    Nous pouvons partager avec les voyageurs notre mode de vie, en harmonie avec notre environnement naturel et au sein d'une commune expérimentant diverses alternatives.
    Plus personnellement, je peux partager mes connaissances culinaires et mes connaissances en bâtiment ancien et écologique, ma passion pour la programmation informatique...
    Ma compagne, est passionnée de plantes et a une activité de cueillettes et transformation de plantes sauvages.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is semi buried, the basements and buried walls are stone, built with lime. The living areas are wooden frame, filled in bales of straw. The interior and exterior plaster bodies are in straw fiber earth and the exterior finishes are planned for September and October, in air lime.
    Before I can apply the finishing plaster, I have to finish the pictures and window sills, install fixed frames (working with oak wood on the top), finish a small piece of framework, build and install a wooden terrace round (Larch), make a lean-to ... and all this without neglecting the time to spend with my little 2-year-old ...
    From mid September to mid-October, depending on the weather, we have planned the finishing coatings with aerial lime at home, and at a friend's who builds on the same principles as at home (Some interesting variants).
    This winter, then throughout the year, we plan to get on with the interior work ... Earth or lime finishing plasters, hemp lime slab, construction of a mass stove, earth partitions on light framework, electricity, plumbing, stairs (one masonry on sarasine vault, one in metal)….

    La maison est semi enterrée, les soubassements et murs enterrés sont en pierres, bâtie à la chaux. Les parties habitables sont en ossature bois, remplis en bottes de pailles. Les corps d'enduits intérieurs et extérieurs sont en terre fibré paille et les finitions extérieur sont prévues pour septembre octobre, en chaux aérienne.
    Avant de pouvoir appliquer l’enduit de finition, il me faut finir les tableaux et appuis de fenêtres, poser des châssis fixes (travail du bois de chênes en plateau), finir un petit bout d’ossature, construire et poser une terrasse en bois rond (Mélèze), faire un appentis… et tout cela sans négligé le temps à passer avec mon petit bonhomme de 2 ans…
    De mi septembre à mi-octobre, selon la météo, nous avons prévu les enduits de finition à la chaux aérienne chez nous, et chez un ami qui construit sur les mêmes principes que chez nous (Quelques variantes intéressantes).
    Cette hiver, puis au court de l ‘année, nous projetons de nous mettre sur les travaux d’intérieurs… Enduits de finition à la terre ou à la chaux, dalle de chaux chanvre, construction d’un poêle de masse, cloisons en terre sur ossature légère, électricité, plomberie, escaliers (un maçonné sur voûte sarasine, un en métal)….

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the period, we can welcome you in our common house, in a cabin, or on the site where currently, we have set up a summer room ....

    Selon la période, nous pourrons vous accueillir dans notre maison commune, dans une cabane, ou sur le chantier où actuellement, nous nous sommes aménager une chambre d'été....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located at the end of a small wild valleys where there are many hiking trails ... on foot, by bike, or even on horseback (we have on the farm a herd of horses dedicated to hiking). A 30-minute walk from the house, there is a climbing site. The activities are very much geared towards outdoor sports, but not only; Our dynamic valley offers various opportunities in all seasons to gather around cultural events ...


    Nous nous situons ou bout d'une petites vallées sauvage où passent de nombreux chemins de randonnées... à pied, à vélo, ou même à cheval (nous avons sur la ferme un troupeau de chevaux dédiés à la randonnée). A 30mn de marche de la maison, il y a un site d'escalade. Les activités sont beaucoup tournées vers le sport nature mais pas que; Notre vallée dynamique offre en toutes saison diverses occasions de se rassembler autour d'évènements culturels...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    En bout de ligne, il peut arriver que nous ayons notre ligne internet coupée. At the end of the day, there may be times when our internet line is cut.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Sur le hameau, nous avons un camping. On the hamlet, we have a campsite.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 358124165216