Learn cooking and Italian culture while helping me renovate in historic central Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm an American journalist living in Europe covering international politics, culture, and the culinary scene. I've lived in various parts of the world but have been in Rome for more than 15 years. I write fiction and non-fiction, take art classes, and help lead a fun and growing English-speaking story-telling group in Rome. In addition to my journalism experience, I'm also a trained chef and sommelier, My travels abroad have given me a lot of exciting "ingredients" for unique stories to share over unique dishes. Of course, telling stories is only half the fun. I welcome the chance to meet new people and learn more about the interesting lives they lead and the places they've discovered.

    I recently got an amazing opportunity to acquire an Enlightenment-era apartment in the historical center of Rome. The apartment itself is full of history associated with old Rome and the Vatican. is on a high floor with amazing views that include five of the seven hills of Rome and located in the heart of an authentic Italian neighborhood. However, it needs renovation. I learned about Workaway through friends near Paris and thought this could be an exciting exchange opportunity, refurbishing this cool, sunny apartment together while telling each other our stories, practicing different languages, and cooking meals together based on our various backgrounds and influences. (About languages: I'm fluent in English, Italian, and Spanish, and Mocha the dog speaks the international language. But the common language within the Workaway group will probably be English.)

    Help me break in this new place with friendly people eager to pick up some renovation skills while enjoying sunny historic Rome. I can give you great insights on places to go, things to do, and events to attend. Artists and musicians are especially welcome! I'll have more than one Workawayer at once and will do my best to make a nice blend of cultures so that you can meet new and interesting people during your stay here.

    I look forward to sharing and transforming this exciting place and adding to its history through this fun multicultural exchange.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With more than 25 years experience as a professional journalist, traveling throughout the globe to cover events including climate change summits, papal coronations, international film festivals, and national elections, I love to tell stories and have a driving curiosity to keep learning more.

    Cooking and meals together will be fun conversational events. I can also provide you with stories and detail about Rome you'd probably not learn from a typical guidebook. The area I live in is right in the heart of ancient Rome with a view over the ruins of the Imperial Forum, so you'll get plenty of opportunities to explore and discover this incredible city with its rich heritage. You'll also get to meet other workawayers from around the globe while you're here as well as local Italians who will be leading the renovation projects. And of course, don't forget the endless lifetime advantages of acquiring renovation skills!

  • Help

    Help

    I'll have professional workers overseeing the renovation work, but you can join in on the refurbishing fun, learning how to re-wire electricity, do some basic plumbing, restore doors and windows, redo walls, install kitchen and bathroom cabinets, etc.

    There will also be some gardening tasks on the little terrace and the balconies. You can also do some shopping (I'll show you the cool zero-km and organic market to go to) and even help out with little Mocha, my adorable terrier cross dog, when she goes on her walks through the historic parts of the city.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be staying in this beautiful top-floor apartment that's being renovated.

    While that's cool and offers amazing views, it also means it's under renovation, so it won't be luxurious. Still, there's basic furniture, a comfortable bed, Internet, a basic but functioning kitchen and bathroom, and other necessary amenities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The neighborhood is in the heart of historical Rome, with all that entails. The Roman Forum, the Capitoline Hill, the Tiber River and Circus Maximus are within five minutes by foot. In 15 minutes or less you can reach the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Campo di Fiori, the Pantheon, and Trastevere and Testaccio, both home to scores of restaurants and clubs. The area is well connected to Rome's public transportation network. Helpers can get an invite to use the guest room on a future visit to Rome after the project is complete.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Even Mocha knows there's more than just work, work, work.
The view looking north from the future library ("ufficio" on the floorplan).
The terrace ("terazza" on the floorplan)
Floorplan for the apartment.
The couch in the living room ("sala" on the floorplan) (available for sleeping).
The main bedroom ("camara 1" on the floor plan) ... the pattern on the wall behind the bed shows how long it's been since the wall was painted!
The bathroom.
Mocha, head of the welcoming committee!
View from the living room ("sala" on the floorplan), looking east. That's the Palentine Hill in the distance, where legend says Rome was founded in 753 BC.
Host ref number: 357875256667