Enjoy nature and help outside with a view on the Picos de Europa, Asturias, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    SPECIAL REQUEST: I AM LOOKING FOR 1 OR 2 PERSONS WHO COULD BUILD A DONKEY SHED.

    I have been a Workawayer myself and am now enjoying Workaway from the other side! In the summer of 2018 I settled down in a hamlet near Cangas de Onís with a panoramic view on the Picos de Europa. I am a 40-something Dutch woman, working as a writer and editor. I live in the beautiful Asturian countryside with 3 cats and hopefully soon 3 donkeys as well. I am trying to live a sustainable life, close to nature.

    TYPE OF WORK
    The work will be mostly physical and outside. Possible work for 2019:
    - Collecting firewood in the forest with a chainsaw and a wheelbarrow
    - Cutting and chopping the wood and stacking it in the woodshed
    - Working in the vegetable garden
    - Handy(wo)man jobs like making a compost system, an outdoor shower or a construction to grow hops
    If you are a native Spanish speaker I would love to practice my Spanish with you. Householdtasks will be limited to dish washing and just cleaning up after yourself.

    VEGAN/VEGETARIAN/MEALS
    I am a vegetarian and cook mostly vegan food. The only creatures that are allowed to bring in dead animals are my cats :-) We will normally have breakfast, lunch and dinner together. Breakfast is around 8.30am and mostly oatmeal porridge, lunch is the bigger warm meal around 2pm and dinner is smaller and around 7-8pm. If you like to cook vegan we can take turns, otherwise I will be your cook :-)

    WORKING HOURS / DAYS OFF
    The work will be done in the mornings, between breakfast and lunch (apart from a bit of dish washing). So you will be free in the afternoons. Sometimes we will work together, sometimes you will work on your own. You can take days off in consultation. They can also be consecutive, so you can spend a night somewhere else.

    OTHER THINGS TO CONSIDER
    - We will be sharing the bathroom and livingroom, so will be living rather close together.
    - The house is heated by a wood burner. In winter and on colder days I will make a fire somewhere during the afternoon, so mornings can be a bit chilly. There is electric heating in your room, but I will ask you to use it wisely.
    - Meals are provided and you can always make yourself some coffee or tea, or take fruits. Other things that you would like to eat or drink you can buy yourself and of course use my (tiny) fridge.
    - As I have my own work to do, I probably won't have time to entertain you during your free hours. I do have a little library with books in Dutch, English and a few Spanish books. I don't have tv. There is no wifi here either. You can use the hotspot on my telephone for small things like checking your email, whatsapp or looking things up.
    - On your day off I can bring you to the Cangas de Onís bus station and of course you can get a ride when I have to go somewhere. Having your own means of transport would give you a lot more options to move around though.
    - I have 3 cuddly and young cats. So this is not a very good place if you are allergic or hate cats ;-)
    - I will host volunteers occasionally and mostly just for 1 week (or even shorter). One of the reasons are the short peaks in the amount of work that I have.
    - If you apply, please show me that you have read my profile and tell me why you would like to stay and work here.

    WHAT TO SEE AND DO
    I live in a very beautiful region, perfect for nature lovers. Some suggestions to see and do:
    - The closest town is Cangas de Onís, it is about a 15 minutes drive. It is a nice, lively and touristy town with all facilities.
    - You can take a bus from the Cangas de Onís bus station to the sanctuary of Covadonga and the famous lakes of Covadonga in the Picos de Europa.
    - There is a GR going through the hamlet where I live. You can hike from the house to Cangas de Onís in about 19 kilometers. I can pick you up from there (or drop you there so you can walk back to the house).
    - The cities of Oviedo and Gijón can be done in a day trip (but better to spend a night there).
    - You could visit the stunning coast of Asturias. For example take the little train from Arriondas (I can bring you there) to Ribadesella or Llanes or walk 1 or 2 days on the Camino del Norte (one of the Santiago trails).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As having been a Workawayer myself I think I can relate pretty well. And of course tell you my story how I transformed from an office worker in Amsterdam to living and working in the Asturian countryside. I can teach you about vegetarian and vegan cooking and help you with improving your English and Dutch (!).

  • Help

    Help

    The work is outside and physical, so you will need some level of fitness. At the moment I am especially looking for someone with building or carpenter skills who could help me out by building a donkey shed.

    Regular type of work:
    - Collecting firewood in the forest with a chainsaw and a wheelbarrow
    - Cutting and chopping the wood and stacking it in the woodshed
    - Working in the vegetable garden
    - Handy(wo)man jobs like making a compost system, an outdoor shower or a construction to grow hops

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own spacious room in the house (two single beds that could be put together)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a rural area with hardly any public transport on walking distance, so there is not a lot of entertainment around. And however this is Spain, don't expect warm, sunny and dry weather. It happens, but in Asturias you'll never know when. It is lush and green here and that is for a reason ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My yellow house
César, Isa and Manu
Cutting dead trees for fire wood
Me
The view from the house (and the cows of the neighbours)
Workawayers proudly showing the fire wood they collected from the forest
Isa keeping an eye on things
My favorite donkey still lives in the Donkey Paradise, but I hope to adopt him (together with his two female friends) as soon as the donkey shed is ready!
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 352456511426