Help me get my home and garden in order in Hexham, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    389

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired woman, living with a dog, two cats, and a messy, under-decorated three bedroom house in a historic market town in the north of England. There is a beautiful "central park" (known as the Sele) backing on to the garden of our terraced house near the town centre. There is a 9th century (yes, 1100 years old) Abbey, the Shambles - a medieval covered market, as well as the Moot Hall and the old gaol, both massive, and also medieval.
    But we have lots of more recent pubs, a community cinema, the Queen's Hall Arts Centre for music, drama and arts.
    We are on direct train and bus services from Newcastle upon Tyne, and are within easy reach of Hadrian's Wall and its many forts, milecastles and other Roman remains.
    You won't starve: I am a compulsive cook, and competed in the very first UK Masterchef (got the Tshirt!); I've travelled widely, speak good french, indifferent German, and very nearly non-existent Italian, Greek and Japanese.
    My career was in admin, but for interesting people - a world-renowned director of the Royal Shakespeare theatre, an interior designer to royalty, and a dentist who pulled some very exalted teeth. Then I did some test-diving (closed circuit breathing apparatus) and technical writing. I have also produced competition horses, worked in a casino, and latterly been a Customer Services Team member at Sage Gateshead music and arts performance spaces.

    My current activities include but are not limited to convening a U3A group, volunteering for a charity and singing in four local choirs, mostly classical but also popular. You would be welcome to join one of these, if you wish: a small group singing for weddings and charitable fundraising.

    You will not be bored, but should like cleaning, painting and decorating, washing up, dog walking, and/or gardening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot about the Romans in Britain, the Border Rievers, and the early church in the north of England. I have also taught language as a private tutor - very happy to help with English (or indeed French). You will see some beautiful English countryside.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help cleaning and clearing out the detritus from when my (adult) children left home.
    I need help redecorating.
    And I need help converting the rather attractive jungle out the back into a more conventional garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with small adjacent shower room. Shared sitting room, kitchen, etc. Wifi!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    See above:
    Please note. It is a SINGLE bedroom but I might be able to organise another bed/mattress....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 - 5 hours per day/max 25 hours per week




Host ref number: 351124766468