Explore rural landscapes and help our family with some home DIY projects in Clare, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Small family of two adults (a parent and 18 year old son) living in rural County Clare approximately 11 kilometres from main town which is Ennis. House requires various repairs and maintenance so looking for a person who is passionate about DIY projects and innovative in suggestions solutions for problem areas around the house. This project is really suitable for an innovator in old-house maintenance. I cannot provide much direction with the work, only I will detail the problems and expect the helper to find the solution and do the job - so I am not offering any skills’ exchange in this area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    However my location in rural north Clare is ideal for the traveller who wants to experience rural landscape and local people. My home is located 1.5km from a small village and on the periphery of the stunning world famous and renowned Burren landscape of swirling limestone hills and unusual plants and faunas. Location allows easy access within a 25Km range to many beautiful coastal areas such as The Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Spanishpoint and Kilkee. I am happy to provide some transport to the traveller who wants to do a bit of sightseeing.
    Some of my work involves teaching creative writing. For people who like to read - I can offer conversation and discussions about books or for anyone interested in writing I can offer creative writing advice.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for a helper who is passionate about DIY projects and innovative in suggestions solutions for problem areas around the house. It’s an old house in need of a lot of repair but I would be happy for someone who could come and address some of the issues at least. Work would probably suit someone with a mix of skills such as wood work, plastering, painting and plumbing. House is located on half acre and the garden needs maintenance and development so gardening experience would be helpful too. There’s also a field that needs clearing. I am happy for the helper to do four to five hours work per day or to do longer days in exchange for having free full days for leisure/travel.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Learning a little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with shower room and toilet facilities. Share kitchen and living areas with family. Bedroom is small but large enough to add a desk and chair if needed. Can prepare own meals or welcome to eat meals prepared - and with the family. Happy to cook with ingredients the helper suggests. Ideal place for someone who likes peace and quiet in the evenings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers have a wonderful choice of experiences and places to visit in County Clare and its surrounding counties of Galway, Limerick, Kerry and Tipperary. Can advise on public transport to places of interest and am happy to provide helper with transport to and from public transport and can provide some transport to places within a 20Km range. Clare is famous for traditional Irish music and when the pubs open again after Covid-19 - it will be the ideal location for Irish music lovers. Wonderful countryside for people who like to hike and climb and walk and for lovers of the sea the nearest coastal point is only 15Km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Decent wi-fi. Desk and chair provided in bedroom.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of parking space for camper van, van or car.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 341871323674