Come and volunteer on our organic homestead and spend some time getting to know how an urban family lives near Bangalore, India

Country

India

updated  

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and volunteer on our organic homestead and spend some time getting to know how an urban Indian family lives. We love to meet people from all cultures, and welcome your ideas and contributions.

    Currently looking at building a studio space ....Any architects out there???!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living as part of our family will mean you will immerse yourself in our rural Indian lifestyle. We eat three meals a day, with plenty of variety, and often drawing on our Punjabi roots.

    I am passionate about lifelong learning, and have unshooled my children. Tara lives with me on the homestead, and our shared passions include eating / growing traditional organic wholefoods (and challenging the diet dictocrats), researching, meditating, playing, creating, growing, doing, helping and everything else that comprises the day to day happenings of my life.

    Our approach to working on the homestead is informal, and tasks will be allocated to suit your interests and preferences, on the whole.

    Spending time with us will give you a real opportunity to make your mark on our homestead with your ideas, your creativity and your energy.

  • Help

    Help

    We inherited this homestead from my parents when they divided the family farm between me and my five siblings. The plot has an abundance of coconut palms, and a wide range of other trees and plants. Our avocado tree grows the biggest avocados ever.

    We have a few cows and 5 friendly dogs as well as a beautiful cat on the homestead. We use the coconut palms to make coconut oil and lip balm, and are always investigating other ways to make a living from the land.

    We are looking for volunteers to help with the everyday running of the homestead, which will include gardening, weeding, small construction projects and general maintenance - repairs and so on. We have a small number of local villagers supporting our work on the homestead and in our home, and daily interaction between volunteers and our helpers would take place.

    We are also currently looking for some help with designing a dance/pottery/artists studio space ... it is at the moment in its very early stage ....an idea waiting to be made concrete...physically and metaphorically speaking. Any ideas on design, natural building and tips on managing such space would be welcome ! Any architects out there???!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hindi, Kanada

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Part of the fun will be deciding where you will stay. We have rooms in the main farmhouse, we have a small cottage on our land which we could use. Which ever one we decide, we will give you a bed, access to a shared kitchen (inside or out), a shared bathroom, and the opportunity to eat a meal with us whenever suitable.
    Three meals will be provided , however.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The homestead is located close to the city of Bangalore, so volunteers will find it easy to explore that fine city, as well as being able to travel to Kerala, Mangalore, Coorg and other beautiful places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Tara , with the bulls
Amita
Circular garden
Circular bed....from a distance
Main house...


Host ref number: 339275661343