Help with building and carpentry in our family home and garden.

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    17

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are in Puerto López. We are a family with two fabulous bilingual kids who would be thrilled to help you learn English or Spanish. We live on the mountainside overlooking the ocean, just a 10 minute walk to the beach. We have an extensive collection of plants and we strive to combine nature with practicality. I am an Archaeologist and I came to the area 20 years ago to complete an archaeological field school. I fell in love with the area and I started to build my own home here about 5 years ago. We still have a lot of work to do and we could use your help. The guest cabin is about half done so I need a bricklayer and a carpenter. The garden is on terraces and there is plenty of work needed there as well. The kitchen needs a cement subfloor and a couple of brick walls.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will feel at home with us, surrounded by nature and the Machalilla Natuonal Park. We are fluent in English and Spanish.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently in need of volunteers to help build an ecological cabin and continued gardening. I have a need for someone skilled in bricklaying and cement. There is also work available for a carpenter. The new wood floors in the guest cabin haven't been sanded and varnished yet and I need to build a staircase out of bamboo. I also need help laying brick sidewalks and building bamboo retaining walls in the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide a private or shared bedroom and bath. Breakfast and lunch are included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have plenty to explore in your free time such as visiting local beaches, Los Frailes, Nature preserves, Monkey forests, Agua Blanca, Salango Museum, and Isla de La Plata.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 338386743342