updated  

Join us and help with gardening, farming, DIY and building projects in Skopelos island, Greece

  • Greece
  • Favourited 76 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are two good friends, Anna (42) and Stavros (52). 6 years ago we moved from the big city of Thessaloniki to the beautiful island of Skopelos, to get involved in a small touristic business.

    Our House is situated in a quiet area, surrounded by olive trees and many cats! Our main work is during the summer (holiday apartments), so we are living a more relaxed life from October to April.
    We are usually doing general maintenance and repairs, farming and garden work and small DIY projects and builds.

    PLEASE NOTE:
    From March until May our schedule involves much more agricultural work and requires working with soil, so you are required to possess the respective physical strength / stamina and some typical agricultural knowledge about Mediterranean soils.

    We have almost all the tools we need. So we need some helping brains AND hands.
    We will be glad to have nice and honest people, to share ideas and good time working together and enjoying the simple things in life. Some physical strength will be needed and you may get dirty, but you will be rewarded by complete absence of mental / psychological stress. We welcome people with sense of humor, as this makes life and working much more enjoyable!

    Anna is vegetarian, she is a dynamic person and likes walking in the nature, winter swimming, gardening, farming and being surrounded by animals. She is open minded, outgoing and likes to gather knowledge about pets, plants and vegetables.

    Stavros likes eating fish and loves sweets, likes technology, computers, electronics, cars and motorbikes, DIY and projects. He has a technical mind and precise hands, that often get dirty in order to fix what is broken or improve whatever can be improved.

    We will be happy to hear from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience the beauty and the relaxed way of simple life in a small and quiet Greek island during the non-summer season.

  • Help

    Help

    Need help with gardening and farming, work around the house, maintenance and general DIY in and around the house (painting and small repairs), etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Macedonian: Fluent
    Serbian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with shared living room and bathroom within our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Skopelos is one of the most beautiful Greek islands, one of the few that combine the Green of the trees and the Blue of the Aegean sea.
    There are countless remote places you can visit, full of mind blowing views that remain unforgettable.

    Skopelos' island main town (named Skopelos as well) is about 13Km away. It's a quiet place with no nightlife during the winter, but walking in the small alleys and enjoying the view of the traditional beauty of the small houses is rewarding.
    We are driving there at least 3 times a week for shopping, have a coffee or other needs.
    We occasionally drive to other places to meet some friends or enjoy food at a tavern.
    There is a local bus line that commutes from one side of the island to the other, 3 times a day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a stable broadband ADSL connection of 20 Mbps down / 1 Mbps up and good 4G mobile coverage.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of private space for your bike, car or camper / van.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love animals, though your pet has to get along with the many cats that live in the area.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 337555896564

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Help at our animal shelter in Crete, Greece
Help fix our house and transform our garden in Corfu, Greece