Scheduled server update :) The site will be offline for an estimated 60 minutes starting at 11:00 h CET / 17:00 h HKT (current server time: 10:17 CET). Thanks for your patience.   close ×

Come and help us in our community in the Sierras of Rocha! Uruguay

Country

Uruguay

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1142

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a community in Sierras of Rocha Uruguay
    The land has 23hectars which are shared by families mostly.
    5 hectars of the land is protected to preserve its nature, we are happy that the fauna of the land like to stay with us, finding capivaras, lizzards, deers, tatus and more around the place.
    We are mostly focus in living a life in harmony with nature and planting, we have also started a farmacy where we create our own soaps, creams and tinctures with the herbes that grow here.
    We build our houses with natural materials, specially bioconstruction.
    The land is wild and beautiful, we use the water from the river in our houses and most of us drink filtered rain water.
    Around our community there are other families and communities with the ones we share activities. There is lots of life in this amazing land that we live on.
    We need help with building, planting, taking care of olive trees, harvesting yerba mate, herbs, fruits and flowers. Plant trees and other, taking care of veggie garden, etc. Welcome to join with what you feel a calling and feel inspired.


    Somos familias que compartimos un campo en las Sierras de Rocha Uruguay
    El terreno tiene 23 hectáreas.
    5 hectáreas de tierra están protegidas para preservar su naturaleza, nos alegra que la fauna de la tierra le guste quedarse con nosotros, encontrando capivaras, lagartijas, ciervos, tatus y más alrededor del lugar.
    Nos enfocamos principalmente en vivir una vida en armonía con la naturaleza y la siembra, también hemos comenzado una farmacia donde creamos nuestros propios jabones, cremas y tinturas con las hierbas que crecen aquí.
    Construimos nuestras casas con materiales naturales, especialmente bioconstrucción.
    La tierra es salvaje y hermosa, usamos el agua del río en nuestras casas y la mayoría bebe agua de lluvia filtrada.
    Alrededor de nuestra comunidad hay otras familias y comunidades con las que compartimos actividades. Hay mucha vida en esta increíble tierra en la que vivimos.
    Necesitamos ayuda para construir, plantar, cuidar olivos, cosechar yerba mate, hierbas, frutas y flores. Plantar árboles y otros, cuidar el huerto, etc. Bienvenido a unirse a lo que sienta un llamado y sentirse inspirado.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would learn a lot about permaculture, bioconstruction, medicinal herbs, and community life, uruguaian nature. You will enjoy the wild nature around you, you may learn spanish =)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are searching for people with interest in permaculture, bioconstruction and carpentery.
    Most of us are still building our houses and our gardens, so this is mostly what we need help with.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In summer usually is in tent, for the winter we are preparing a space indoors.
    We will provide you with a tent and bedding in a beautiful "monte" uruguayan woods.
    We provide vegetarian meals, breakfast, lunch, dinner and fruits. You will easily feel part of this community!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the country side 16km away from the closest city. Where we live there isn't supermarkets, we have neighbors selling organic veggies and farmers selling organic homemade cheese, yogurt and fresh cow milk. There is a market once a week in the comunal house where you can buy local products, and food and more at the bar. Also cultural exchange.
    Every week we have activities such as yoga, singing, kirtans, jams, volleyball and football in the neighborhood.
    There isn't public transport, but lots of neighbors can give you a lift. We can also coordinate before with someone.

    Vivimos en el campo a 16 km de la ciudad más cercana. Donde estamos no hay supermercados. Hay feria 1 vez a la semana dónde se pueden comprar productos locales y tambien sirven comida en el bar. También intercambio vecinal y cultural.
    Además hay yoga, canto, kirtans, volleyball, entre otros, una vez a la semana en el barrio.
    No hay transporte público. Pero si muchos vecinos. O se coordina con anticipación para moverse con un auto vecino o a dedo es posible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 332614786688