Looking forward to hosting on our beautiful family-owned farm at Monkerai, NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    646

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    **We're looking for a person or couple who can stay for 1-2 months in March/April 2021 and run our farmstay business while we have a 1 month holiday in NZ. We can negotiate a split of the income**

    We are an Australian couple, Tanya (32) and Tom (30). We moved to a family-owned farm at Monkerai at the end of 2017 to begin rehabilitating a space that had mostly been neglected for the previous 15 or so years. Before that we were living and working in Newcastle, and taking plenty of time out to travel. Together we spent a month cycling around Tasmania in 2015, and 5 months cycling throughout Scandinavia in 2017, as well as lots of other hiking/cycling/camping trips in Australia.

    Tanya has completed a Permaculture Design Certificate, and is using the knowledge from that to plan the transformation of a few acres of our farm into a food production hub. She also teaches at the high school a few days a week in Gloucester and is involved in the local community gardens. Tom mixes his time between working online and working on projects around the house and farm.

    Our vision for the property is always evolving. In 2018 our focus was on cleaning up around the shed and house which had essentially been used as a dumping ground. In 2019 our major focus was on developing a fairly large fruit orchard on swales, and on building a tiny house on wheels to be used as a guest space. 2020 onwards we are hoping to keep developing those projects and start to focus more on improving the rest of the farm outside of our garden/orchard area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have both travelled independently throughout our 20's, and have found that being hosted was one of the best parts of the experience, getting to see how other people live and being in the company of interesting and often like-minded people. While living in Newcastle we hosted lots of cycle tourists and loved being able to help people on their adventures and live vicariously while we were heading off to work everyday.

    For us this is a chance to meet more cool people, and to share this beautiful little valley with others. We live fairly simply and are excited about trying to turn this property into a really cool place to be. If you'd like to relax here for a while and contribute to our vision we'd love to share it with you!

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the our work now is in either maintaining our gardens and orchards, or trying to clean up the rest of the farm which has been neglected for many years. We have some cattle and will eventually have more, so there is likely to be an increasing amount of work related to looking after them (fencing, weed control etc.).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare bedroom with a queen bed. We eat a mostly organic diet, no real restrictions but we do try to avoid having too much junk food in the house. If you are vegan/vegetarian or have other requirements it will be no problem. We like to cook, so there is a different meal each night. If you wish to cook for yourself or for us that is also okay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Firstly, our farm is very nice. It is essentially contained within it's own little valley, with the boundaries of the property running along the tops of the surrounding hills. You can't see anyone and don't hear much traffic. It takes about 45-60 minutes to walk to the back of the property, starting in a more cleared area around the house and following a little spring-fed creek as it gradually becomes more and more rain-forest type landscape. At the back it is almost pure rainforest, and there is said to be a big python living in there somewhere!

    We live about 20 minutes from the nearest small town (Stroud), where there is cafes and a free swimming pool. The town we mostly go to is Gloucester, 25-30 minutes away. It is a bustling little town with cafes, supermarkets, all types of shops and services, a nice park by the river and lots of sporting facilities. Tom plays tennis and golf there, and Tanya teaches at the school and volunteers at the community gardens.

    The monkerai valley which we live near is quiet beautiful and stretches about 20km before it runs into the base of the Barrington Tops. There is a tourist farm 5km away where we can go to swim in the river or eat at the cafe or restaurant. There are other nice swimming holes we visit in summer. The roads are gravel and very quiet, so it's a good place to go cycling. The Barrington Tops is a 1-2 hour drive and has a lot of nice hiking/mountain biking trails if you wish to go camping for a few days. We have plenty of spare camping gear.

    We also travel to Newcastle monthly to see family and friends, go to the beach, get stuff off gumtree and visit some of our favourite places from our time living there. It's about 80 minutes drive to the centre of Newcastle, or 30 minutes drive to Dungog where you can get the train to and from Newcastle. Between us and Newcastle there are some other cool places worth spending some time at such as Myall Lakes national park and Stockton sand dunes.

    When we're at home we work, read, play games such as table tennis and cards, go on walks/rides, watch sports, watch movies/documentaries, have campfires, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have satellite internet, so it's not lightning fast but it is pretty decent and generally reliable. There are a number of spaces that can be used to work privately.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 329783848846