Calling any keen gardeners or digital nomads who are keen adventurers to join me in Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/05/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a keen adventurer and spend lots of my time in the mountains, on the hills or in the rivers around the South Island of New Zealand. Mid week, there's few evenings I am not out for a mtb ride, a trail run or walk, a climb, a paddle or something else. My TV is hardly watched. :P

    My home is above Christchurch, close to a bus route (about 40 minutes to the CBD) and is one house away from trails and open fields. It is the best of both country and town life. It is a quiet place with views over the city and to the mountains.

    I'm an academic by trade (yip - I'm a nerdy swat - watch out for my arguing) and a business consultant, who is morphing into a networker who is re-imagining the ways organisations and businesses work, to try to make some urgent changes in the way we use and abuse the planet.

    The work I've got is two types:
    1/ around the house - my garden (especially a vege garden) and staining the outside of my place
    2/ digital nomad stuff - I have just launched a new company and need some help with social network marketing and assistance with my website

    If you're interested, let me know and let's see what works for us all...

    Oh - and my place is strictly a non-smoking house - the only smoke is from the fire in the winter :P

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a native Cantab (lived in Chch most of my life). I frequent loads of places that aren't on TripAdvisor (Note: you will be sworn not to tell too) and am happy to share these with visitors. I am also keen to swap stories and banter. :)

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment, garden duties are the go - some weeding, some planting, some pruning. Keen gardeners, or fun adventures who are keen to help out are both welcomed...

    With the launch of my new company, there are also opportunities for digital nomads with experience in social networking and internet marketing and website design who also want to be part of re-imagining how businesses and organisations work...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little German, a tiny bit of French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll stay in your own bedroom with your own double bed - there is some adventure gear in the room too, but plenty of space for you. :)
    My son and I and maybe one other flatmate share the house - oh and Skye (my German Shepherd Dog). You must like dogs - Skye is awesome and is always keen on walks and runs and bike rides, no matter what the weather is (so am I...)
    It's a two bathroom, 4 bedroom house, with a large open plan living area with great views. There's also a deck to watch the sunset from and a bbq for summer (and some winter nights too).
    Breakfast tends to be informal - unless you want to be up at the same time as me, you are welcome to help yourself. Same applies for lunch, but normally we come together for dinner in the evenings, or I can leave food if I will be out. I'm vege-curious but not vegetarian or vegan. If you are vegetarian, we can all be while you are at my place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport to and from my place is easy and there is parking available too. Depending on when/how you arrive, I might be able to assist with transport too. Most of my house guests tend to get involved in the outdoor activities I do, so there is a seat in the adventure wagon (my 4wd van) if you're keen...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 322881339467