1 / 5

Welcome to our little farm and help us with animal care, gardening and much more near Krems, Austria

  • Austria
  • Favourited 42 times
  • Last activity: 12/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *GOOD GERMAN SKILLS ARE REQUIRED*
    (even though our profile is in English)

    Hi all and welcome to our farm! :)
    At our farm, you will find more than 20 mother sheep (which we milk - we also make cheese and yogurt), 6 horses, 15 chickens (more or less), 3 cats (1 farm cat and 2 house cats), a dog, fruit trees, and a veggie garden. We are an organic farm and it's important to us to live with nature and of course, take good care of our animals and everything we have at our farm. Our farm turned out to become a little community farm and we receive visitors daily. Tolerance, being open minded and treating each other and our environment in a respectful way are some of our core values. The busiest season is probably from April to July - that's when the veggies, fruits, herbs, and the sheep need most of the attention. We make jam, syrups, and other tasty products to conserve them and I am also into collecting herbs (currently I am attending a course about herbs).

    The main characters:

    Mum (Ingrid):
    She is the sheep lady and you can learn a lot from her (cooking, taking care of the sheep, gardening, ...). You can help her with milking and might have a chance to learn how to make cheese and yogurt. :)

    Dad (Robert)
    He is always busy and full of knowledge - we plan to learn more from him - so if we help him with some of his tasks we might get the chance to learn some things from him. He is the tractor man, carpenter, and so many more things ...

    Johanna
    My sister is a physiotherapist and our horse lady. If you like horses - she is the perfect person to hang out with and I am sure that you can learn a lot from her.

    Elisabeth
    That's me and the one who's responsible for our workawayers. I was a workawayer and really enjoyed it so I thought it would be cool to host people at our place. It is a little paradise and having some more helping hands and hosting some travelers would be awesome. I lived in different countries and traveled quite a lot over the last 10 years and now I decided to settle down - at least for a year - and build up some things here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are a lot of things that you can learn, everything that involves living a self-sustainable life, living/working with animals, ...

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people with common sense, hands-on mentality who are happy to support us in different areas or even create their own job (we are open to new ideas). You should have the chance to do some work that you are really interested in so that you can learn something new and enjoy what you are doing. Sometimes you will be required to just help us with some household chores - but of course, that should be balanced. A list of the main tasks:

    - animal care (feeding, milking, cleaning)
    - gardening
    - household chores (cooking, cleaning, ...)
    - collecting and processing herbs, fruits, and vegetables
    - cheese dairy (making cheese, packaging, cleaning)
    - if you are interested in tractor work you can get an insight as well

    I would like to give you responsibility and create a routine so that you know what to do and that you really help us with your time. We start our mornings early and ideally, you do your work in the mornings, so you have some free time in the afternoons. It is hard to say how many working hours you actually have. So far our workawayers were part of the family and experienced how farm life is - so we worked together when it was needed. It is a lot of work but very rewarding as well. Sometimes there is more and sometimes there is less work. Communication is the key. :)

    PS: Everyone is welcome. We don't care whether you're vaccinated or not. :)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a cozy room at our farm which we used as a community room. There is a kitchen and a 1,40 bed in there. Next to it is a bathroom with a toilet and shower - which is also used by visitors. So please bring your flip flop with you. Your neighbors are our sheep, but don't worry - it is not smelly. If you want you can also spend some nights in the hay or bring your own tent. :) -
    An idea of what our schedule usually looks like: we start milking and feeding our sheep at 6.45, then my mum makes cheese and you would water the garden and/or help her and then we have breakfast together in our house/garden. After that break we continue working. Lunchtime is between 12:00 and 13:30, we have a little coffee and cake break in the afternoon, and dinner time always varies.
    Our family loves eating and we usually have our meals together - if time allows - and visitors are welcome. You would count as a family member so it is somehow important to us that we have our meals together ( breakfast, lunch and dinner) - that's our bonding time. :)

    The coolest part is that almost all our ingredients come from our farm - especially in summer and autumn.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live next to a forest, a volleyball court, a lake, vineyards, the next small city Krems an der Donau and Vienna is reachable in about an hour by train. There are lots of nice hiking and cycling routes and places to boulder around our home. You can borrow our bicycles and we can give you a lift to Krems. You won't get bored! :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Your animal should be used to people and other animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 322399693225

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Come and experience life with us and help with horses and household in Aschbach, Lower Austria
Help me train my two horses and help with gardening in Aspangberg-Sankt Peter, Austria