Farm looking for help with horses, rabbits, dogs and cats near Hamburg, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    128

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 92 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ​Family is looking for help during winter time 2019 / 2020.

    ​We live on a little farm southeast of Hamburg in the beautiful countryside in Schleswig-Holstein.
    Our Family consists of Gisela (59), Olaf (54) and Colleen (25) as well as 2 dogs, 4 horses, 3 cats and 4 rabbits.
    We like to travel, my parents favorite destination is South Spain, Andalusia, I myself favor Ireland.

    Our native language is German, we speak English on a good, fluent level. Some rusty, basic Spanish could be waken up too.

    ​We are working full time in Hamburg and can definitely use an extra pair of hands to help with daily chores on the farm and also in the house.

    We had a few workawayers at our farm and they all loved it, one in particular is coming back every year for a month.

    Decent level of either English or German is required !​!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Possibility to learn German, explore the area and make lifelong friends.

    You can improve your English / German as well as learning plenty of new vocabulary.

    You'll learn a lot about horses, cats and dogs including feeding, mucking and everything involving these animals.

  • Help

    Help

    !!! Decent level of either English or German is a must !!!

    daily chores:
    - horses: mucking the yard, grooming
    - rabbits: feeding, cleaning their hutch / yard
    - cats: feeding, petting, grooming, emptying litter boxes
    - dogs: taking them outside, grooming, cuddling
    - barn: cleaning, sweeping
    - household: vacuuming, watering plants

    This list is not complete, the tasks may vary on a day to day basis. Not every tasks needs to be completed daily. Adjustments or additions are possible.

    You'll have plenty of free time to explore the area! Free time may vary every week, as we're working in a shift system with changing free days ourselves.

    Experience with animals preferred, no riding skills required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation + Food are free in exchange for your help.

    Fully furbished room in the house, very quiet and cozy. Fast WiFi available.

    The farmhouse has 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms + 1 extra WC, a huge living room with a fireplace and a room with some exercise / sport equipment. The dogs and cats are living inside as well. Bathrooms are shared.

    Big garden and lots of pastures roam around, large fields and 2 lakes within 5 min walk.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pickup from the airport or central train / bus station in Hamburg possible.

    I'm always up for an adventure, daytrips can be organized, and I'm very happy to drive and show you around.

    Müssen is a small village, it has 2 bakery shops, 1 little farmers shop, a train station and a very nice lake.
    The next towns are 10 minutes by car or 5 minutes by train (2€ single ticket), Hamburg is the closest city, it can be reached within 45 minutes by car or 25 minutes by train (12€ day ticket)
    Berlin, the capital of Germany, is 3 hours by train or bus (30€ for a return ticket)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Shiva & Bobbie in the garden
sleepy heads
the herd in the pasture
Yako loves cuddles and attention in general.
Shiva, Yako & the horses
Shiva loves being outside with the horses
5 ha / 12 acres pastures
outdoor arena
Indian Summer in Northern Germany - it's not all rain and storm ;-)
Rabbits' heaven
Oreo
the driveway
the farmhouse and the patio in summer
the farm house
the driveway again



Host ref number: 318775496875